Urban Cluster – Featured Art Print

“Urban Cluster” is the art print I wanted to feature today from my Cityscapes Collection.  The print is a group of high-rise buildings in downtown San Diego. The style I used on this print is a sketching technique that emphasizes the linear aspect of the group of buildings.

This particular print had its birth in a project I was doing for a San Diego based company. I was doing a full day shoot around the core areas of San Diego. My shoot took me along the bay in downtown San Diego, then across the bay on Coronado Island. From Coronado, I used my telephoto lens to shoot the skyline of downtown. In the middle of all of those shots, I found this particular scene. Although I never used it for the project, I was pulled to it seeing some elements I liked. After cropping the shot tighter and squaring it, I found the look I was after. I then played with a technique giving it a sketched appearance with watercolors. I liked the result as it highlights the straight lines and sharp points of the architecture in each of the buildings. It’s a group of five buildings caught at such an angle that they look grouped together. In reality, they are not. The buildings in the forefront are about a block apart from each other and the pointed building in the background is at least a half a mile away along with the high-rise condo on the extreme left. The use of a telephoto lens creates an interesting element in the depth perception as it pulls the background in closer, especially in a tight shot like this. Thoughts?

I invite you to come into the gallery to view the collection in Cityscapes.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

6 thoughts on “Urban Cluster – Featured Art Print

      1. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

        Kirt – Sorry about the misspelling of your name. Shame on me. My husband took my iPad last night and thoroughly enjoyed your different galleries. I couldn’t get any work done for him interrupting me to look at something he was going on and on about. I know he misses photography and I’ve been urging him to use his tripod or whatever you call your equipment so he could set his camera up before clicking the picture. His medications are causing some trembling and that’s one more thing to investigate with his medical issues. Let’s just say you have another fan and Tom doesn’t give in easily.

      2. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

        You just made my day. I can’t even begin to tell you how much that means to me. Encourage him to use his tripod! Thank you again for your kind words, Sheri and thank your husband for me. I actually left a very successful corporate job to pursue this passion of mine full time and have felt led (sometimes pushed) by the Holy Spirit to keep after it! Your encouraging words are very appreciated! Thanks!

Leave a comment