A Weekend in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho

Last weekend my wife and I spent a four day weekend in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. Yes, I said 50th….blows our mind. We got married in college and waited to start a family until our late 20’s. We both talked about remembering when my grandparents had their 50th and how old we thought they were. Doesn’t seem that long ago…….

Anyway, our girls and us have talked about what to do for our 50th. A lot of ideas surfaced and international travel destinations were discussed. We have traveled quite a bit through our life together both internationally and domestically. One of the things that kept popping up was how much fun the two of us have on road trips where we get in the car and drive to areas we haven’t been to before. Since moving up to the Pacific Northwest, we keep talking about checking out the beauty of Coeur d’Alene Lake (and the town) in Idaho. Idaho is one of only 4 states we haven’t traveled to. The girls thought it would be a great romantic getaway for us. It was and as you would expect I took a number of pictures of the natural beauty of the area. I’m sharing six of them to give you a feel of the beauty of the lake and surrounding forest.

Coeur d’Alene 1

We stayed in a time share right on the shores

Rocky Shoreline

I took this shot on a trail that led out from a park into the forested shoreline by the town. (telephoto lens)

The Beauty Of The Lake

This capture was along the same trail, but a bit further along it. You can tell that the shoreline goes in and out of the lake creating a variety of perspectives.

Coeur d’Alene 4

This is the Coeur d’Alene Resort which is in the downtown area of the town. They have an awesome upscale restaurant “Beverlys”, which is located on the 7th floor (which is the dark band of floor to ceiling tinted windows about half way up). The view was incredible looking out over the lake with the large covered boat docks sitting at our feet.

Coeur d’Alene 5

On another hike I did, I came across this capture. At first I thought the shape on top of the rock was just more rock, but then it turned and I saw the head of a deer. Kind of a fun thing to see and it was looking out at the trail around the bend from where I was standing.

Coeur d’Alene 6

Right after the original deer shot, I was turning around to get back to the trail, when out of the corner of my eye, I saw movement in the underbrush. It took me a few minutes and the telephoto lens to realize the movement was another deer.

Just wanted to share some of my captures from a beautiful location and a great weekend.

Thoughts? As I have said before, everyone reacts to visual art techniques and looks differently, so I am not in the least offended by opinions. 

Follow my work:

My art gallery: TheWallGallery

Facebook: TheWallGallery.KirtTisdale

Instagram: instagram.com/kirttisdale/

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

15 thoughts on “A Weekend in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho

  1. Darlene

    Coeur d’Alene is one of our favourite spots. We have been there a few times. Congratulations on your 50th Wedding Anniversary!! What a perfect get-away. Now you only have three more states to visit.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thank you Diane….still can’t believe we hit the 50 year mark and then yours truly hits the big 70 mark this week. We got married just a couple of weeks before I turned 20. The weekend was great and the setting was stunning!!

      Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks Tiffany…..blows our mind that it has been that long. We got married in college and then started our family in our late 20’s. Time flies!! Thanks again!!

      Reply

Leave a comment