Covered Bridge – Featured Art Print

“Mosby Creek Bridge” is the art print I wanted to feature today from my Architecture Collection.  The print is a covered bridge in Oregon. The style I used on this print is a watercolor technique that emphasizes the soft tones of the setting and the weather. The setting is rural with the architectural elements of the bridge reinforcing that image as the road crosses the creek. The weather was intermittent rain with a slight chill to the air as wisps of fog hung around the hills. It’s springtime and the leaves are starting to come out on the trees as the fields are greening up. The entire scene speaks of a quieter, slower pace to life. It beckons one to stop, breath in the fresh air and savor the moment.

I confess to having been ignorant on how many covered bridges there are in Oregon. I was enlightened on one of our many road trips from San Diego to Seattle. Our youngest daughter left the family home in San Diego to go to college at the University of Washington in Seattle. Over her four years of school, my wife and I made many trips to the Great Northwest, sometimes flying and sometimes driving all the way through California, Oregon and most of Washington. It was on one of those driving trips through Oregon that I finally clued in on just how many covered bridges there were in that beautiful state. This realization, of course led to spending a few days scouting some of them out. This particular covered bridge, as I’ve stated, is the Mosby Creek Bridge. It was built in 1920 and added to the U.S National Register of Historic Places in 1979. It is the oldest covered bridge in Lane County, Oregon and is still open to traffic. Take a journey back in time and enjoy the print!

I invite you to come into the gallery to view the collection in Architecture.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

17 thoughts on “Covered Bridge – Featured Art Print

  1. kcg1974

    Thank you for this terrific ‘find!’ I’ve always had a love for the beauty of covered bridges and this is no exception. Great shot. Best of luck to your daughter in college. And, you too, while ‘missing’ her. 🙂

    Reply
  2. elainecanham

    Hey Kirt, loved the pictures in your architecture gallery, but i wish there was some information with them. There’s a house in there I found really intriguing, it looks almost English, and I don’t know why I know it’s not, if you see what I mean.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks for the feedback, Elaine. As I am updating and adding new pictures, I am including descriptions to your point. You’re not the first person to ask:) I do my own programming on my site, so each week I get more and more descriptions added. Let me know which picture caught your eye (product number) and I will let you know the story behind it. Thank you very much for stopping by and for the feedback.

      Reply
      1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

        Elaine….that is a country manor in Maine just outside of Bar Harbor. It does have an English look to it. I don’t know the history or who owns it. Saw it on a trip we took to New England and loved it for obvious reasons. Thanks again for stopping by!

      2. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

        I can see why you did a double take. The rock on this house would have been quarried in Maine (which they are famous for), but the design of these older homes were usually based on something the original owners were familiar with in Europe to make them feel more at home. Fascinating! I have always wanted to visit England as my family lineage goes back to two brothers immigrating from England in the early 1800’s. Thanks again, Elaine!

  3. Pingback: Oregon Covered Bridges In Watercolor – Featured Art Prints | thewallgalleryblog

Leave a Reply

