The Seattle Great Wheel Sketched

This week I’m featuring two black and white sketches I created. Each sketch is of an “up-close segment” of the Seattle Great Wheel. The Seattle Great Wheel is a ferris wheel standing 175 tall with 40 gondolas each seating up to 8 individuals and was built in 2012. It’s located at the end of pier 57 in the downtown harbor area overlooking Elliot Bay. The visual aspect of it drew my attention and I took a number of pictures looking for some type of artist inspiration. After studying the pictures the thing that drew my attention was the “delicate” look of it compared to the high-rises in the downtown core. The vision I had was sections of the ferris wheel from unique perspectives done in black and white sketches. Attached are the inspirational captures and the resulting sketches.

The first picture is of the Seattle Great Wheel at the end of pier 57 with some of the downtown high-rises along Elliot Bay.

Seattle Great Wheel on Pier 57

I also took a number of shots on the pier under the great wheel itself. Those captures are what led to the ultimate art prints I created.

Inspiration number one….

The Inspiration for “Going Up On The Wheel”.

This resulted in the first sketch….

Going Up On The Wheel

The next inspiration was behind the second sketch…

The Inspiration for “Seattle Great Wheel”

Resulting in the next sketch…

Seattle Great Wheel

Thoughts? As I have said before, everyone reacts to visual art techniques and looks differently, so I am not in the least offended by opinions. 

Follow my work:

My art gallery: TheWallGallery

Facebook: TheWallGallery.KirtTisdale

Instagram: instagram.com/kirttisdale/

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

20 thoughts on “The Seattle Great Wheel Sketched

    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks Annette!! I played with a few different techniques, but settled on what I showed. I always enjoy taking a capture and seeing what I can do with it!! Thanks for stopping by and for your feedback Annette…much appreciated!

      Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      I had to laugh….if you could see how many captures I took from so many different view points and never went on it. Go figure!! LOL Thanks for stopping by and for your feedback!

      Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks Diane!! I appreciate your kind words. When I started playing with the sketching technique, I knew that was what I wanted for this subject matter! Have a great week and thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  1. Dan Antion

    This is a wonderful post, Kirt and these prints bring back memories of a city I still consider one of my hometowns. I like everything, from the distant photo to the close ups. The last sketch, Seattle Great Wheel is my favorite out of a very good group.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks Dan!! I took so many captures of the wheel from a large number of viewpoints, but it paid off for me when I finally settled on these two sketched!! Have a great week!

      Reply

Leave a comment