Heceda Head Lighthouse Complex in Oregon

More Oregon scenery as I’m featuring the Heceda Head Lighthouse complex along the coastline using two different captures. The first series is of the entire complex showing the lighthouse and the caretakers house. The second series focuses on the lighthouse itself. As I usually do, I show you the process I go through starting with the original capture.

This is the original capture of the complex. You will notice the fog and the impact it has on the capture.

Heceda Head Complex – Original Capture

I took the original capture and eliminated the fog thanks to digital photography programs. Resulting in…..

Heceda Head Complex – Capture Cleaned Up

From this capture I created two final prints. The first one is this scene presented as a watercolor art print.

Heceda Head Complex

I liked the details of the setting with the forested coastline and the architecture of the lighthouse complex, so I also prepared it as a black and white photograph. Black & White photography highlights detailed elements sometimes lost in a color presentation.

Lighthouse Complex

The details pop out highlighting the architecture of the structures within the natural environment of the forest and the ocean waves.

The next series focuses on the lighthouse itself with the architectural elements as a contrast to the surrounding geography.

Heceda Head Lighthouse Original Capture

Heceda Head Lighthouse Capture – Fog Cleaned Up

I took the same approach on eliminating the fog, but I also cropped the frame to bring the entire focus to the lighthouse itself.

Heceda Head Lighthouse Soft Watercolor

And the final print uncropped as a black and white photograph.

Lighthouse on Bluff

Thoughts? As I have said before, everyone reacts to visual art techniques and looks differently, so I am not in the least offended by opinions. 

Follow my work:

My art gallery: TheWallGallery

Facebook: TheWallGallery.KirtTisdale

Instagram: instagram.com/kirttisdale/

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

14 thoughts on “Heceda Head Lighthouse Complex in Oregon

    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      The setting is so beautiful, hard to go wrong. There is a close up of the lighthouse I did in the soft watercolor and created a different sky that I didn’t include as I was working with these two particular captures. Here’s a link if you’re interested in seeing a close up. (You may have to copy and paste, but it will take you to that art print!) https://thewallgallery.com/lighthouse-nautical-art-print-gallery/heceda-head-lighthouse-watercolor-art-print?

      Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      That’s what I got caught up in….almost everything I tried ended up appealing to me. Truly hard to go wrong with a setting like this!! Thanks for stopping by Brad and for the feedback!

      Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      I so agree with your comment on the original capture! Hard to go wrong with that kind of beauty!! I had fun with these captures. Thanks for stopping by Annette and for the feedback!

      Reply
  1. Dan Antion

    I know this lighthouse, Kirt and I really like it. Unfortunately, only the first watercolor image loaded for me. I do like that one. I’ll try to circle back later.

    Reply
  2. denisebushphoto

    What a great subject. I like that you show the original captures. I like the second composition as it features the lighthouse more prominently. I noticed that the sky is bluer and less washed out in your cleaned up capture.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      The second composition on these photos eliminated the fog that was present allowing the subject matter to really stand out! Thanks for stopping by Denise and for your feedback!

      Reply

Leave a comment