Two Oregon Covered Bridges – Two Types of Watercolor

I did a photoshoot of covered bridges in Oregon a few years back. I wanted to share the original captures of two of the bridges I shot. I then turned them both into two versions of watercolor prints. The first version is a soft watercolor technique (a more traditional look) and the second version is an abstract watercolor technique (a more contemporary look).

The original capture of Neal Lane Covered Bridge –

Neal Lane in a soft traditional watercolor –

The Short Covered Bridge

Neal Lane in an abstract contemporary watercolor –

Covered Bridge In Watercolor

The original capture of Horse Creek –

Horse Creek Covered Bridge

Horse Creek in a soft traditional watercolor –

The Red Roof Covered Bridge

Horse Creek in an abstract contemporary watercolor –

Covered Bridge With Red Roof

Thoughts? As I have said before, everyone reacts to visual art techniques and looks differently, so I am not in the least offended by opinions. 

Follow my work:

My art gallery: TheWallGallery

Facebook: TheWallGallery.KirtTisdale

Instagram: instagram.com/kirttisdale/

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

25 thoughts on “Two Oregon Covered Bridges – Two Types of Watercolor

  1. Darlene

    Your subject matter always amazes me as my favourite things are covered bridges, lighthouses and hot air balloons! These covered bridges turned out very well. I especially like the traditional water colour technique.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks Darlene for stopping by and for the feedback!! I love working with all of the subjects you mentioned as they are unique in their own way and I like to highlight that using different techniques!!

      Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      I could have spent days capturing more of the Oregon covered bridges….there are a number of them across the state. They have always caught my eye as I am an architecture nerd!!

      Reply
  2. Nancy

    Oh my goodness… I love them all.
    The softness of the traditional paintings is beautiful, but then you add color, and it wows me!
    Well done, my friend!

    Reply
  3. D. Wallace Peach

    These were so interesting to me, Kirt, because I usually gravitate toward more traditional artistic choices, but in this case, the more contemporary, colorful style immediately caught my eye. You got an “oooh” out of me on those. Thanks for the wonderful fun and its beautiful images. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thus the reason I play around with this stuff trying different methods of presentation. I usually try a variety of techniques and looks and then narrow it down to one. Doesn’t always work that way and when I can’t narrow it down to just one, I settle for a couple (sometimes three????). I truly appreciate your feedback and for stopping by!!

      Reply
      1. D. Wallace Peach

        One of the things I love about art (and writing) is that there are usually at least two people involved – the artist and the audience. It’s a fascinating collaboration. 🙂

Leave a comment