Heritage Hill – Grand Rapids, Michigan – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

The holidays were filled with travel, family and friends. The warmth we experienced meeting our middle daughter’s new in-laws, was incredible and that experience led to the attached shots. So, let me back up just a bit. With three adult daughters and two of them married and our third (our youngest) in a serious relationship heading in that direction, we rotate Christmas. Every other year we host all of them and the off years, they spend with their significant others family. I’m sure this will change again whenever grand children arrive, but for now, that’s what we do. This was the “off” year and all three spent Christmas with their in-laws or soon to be in-laws. Our middle daughter and her husband hosted us to a Christmas in Michigan to meet the members of his family that we had not met. They rented this charming Victorian house in an area called Heritage Hill just two blocks from downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan. The entire area is vibrant with growth and restoration of homes found throughout the neighborhood. After our arrival, I went for a walk and couldn’t stop taking shots of these houses. I appreciate architecture, especially the architecture found in older large homes you typically see in many Midwestern and Eastern towns, here in the US. I have attached 10 of my favorites:


This first shot is typical of the size of homes in the area.

Heritage Hill 1

Heritage Hill 1


 

 

The second capture is another large rambling structure. I love the detail in the trim. This particular house has been split up into multiple rental units as are about 50 % of these large old homes.

Heritage Hill 2

Heritage Hill 2


 

Picture three was a shot that typified the look and feel of the neighborhood. I can only image how beautiful this setting is in the spring, summer and fall.

Heritage Hill 3

Heritage Hill 3


 

Shot number four reminds me of the large rambling house I grew up in as a small child when we lived in a small farm town in Iowa.

Heritage Hill 4

Heritage Hill 4


 

Capture number five looks like a small castle. The detail work with the rock (and I am assuming local stone) is incredible.

Heritage Hill 5

Heritage Hill 5


 

Picture number 6 is the first of three for this house. I was able to get to multiple sides of the home for a complete look at the architecture of this structure. This is actually the side of the home, where a carriage would pull up to disembark passengers.

Heritage Hill 6

Heritage Hill 6


 

This shot shows the front of the house from the street…

Heritage Hill 7

Heritage Hill 7


 

And the last capture shows the opposite side of the home from the carriage porch of picture number 6. Rather large estate…

Heritage Hill 8

Heritage Hill 8


 

Picture number nine and ten are of a house that has been restored and turned into a museum. It is located a couple of homes away from the last series. I love the wrap around porch and you can see the old carriage house in the background. This particular street was obviously a very prominent and wealthy street in it’s day.

Heritage Hill 9

Heritage Hill 9


 

Shot number ten shows the wrap around porch and massive chimneys.

Heritage Hill 10

Heritage Hill 10


 

So much of this history and architecture has been destroyed in the name of progress across the country and I was happy to see a city embrace the heritage and encourage new growth in this area. Since it is within walking distance to downtown, it is very active with young adults and families allowing close access to work and the many restaurants and shops located there. Thoughts?

(The neighborhood also has a Frank Loyd Wright house, which I will share in a future post.)

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

Tsu: KirtWallGallery –

35 thoughts on “Heritage Hill – Grand Rapids, Michigan – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks Lorrie…I was really impressed with the city…love these old homes…always talked about buying an old Victorian and rennovating….probavly better off just talking about it…:)

      Reply
  1. Jet Eliot

    Oh I just loved walking through this neighborhood with you Kirt, and marveling at these mansions. As I was moving through your post, I was reminded of a neighborhood in Oak Park, IL that I walked through about 10 yrs ago, where there were several Frank Lloyd Wrights. And then when I got to the bottom of your post, I saw you left us intrigued with a FLW house in the vicinity, a future post. Awesome architecture here, I love looking at the individuality of each one, remnants of times past with carriage entrances and carriage houses. Thanks so much for this tour and these excellent photos.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      There were soooo many more homes….I had a short window of time to get what I did…..stay tuned for the FLW shots….didn’t get a chance to tour it….would have loved to! Thanks for stopping by Jet!!

      Reply
  2. purpleslobinrecovery

    So gorgeous!! I LOVE looking at these old houses! And dreaming…..
    Lucky, lucky people who actually lived there!!
    And I’m so glad when our heritage is preserved too!
    Brand new cookie cutter houses depress me with their bland sameness.
    Thanks for capturing these on film for us!
    Melinda

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Got stuck there for a few extra days (tons of cancelled flights between Chicago and Dallas right after Christmas…..weather related) made it home, then had our Seattle child with her boyfriend….so had a late Christmas with them and our oldest and husband over New Years weekend. Then took our Seattle couple up to Sedona and Flagstaff for a few days!! How was your time in Mexico?

      Reply
  3. Nancy

    So happy that you got to spend the Holidays with family in such a very spectacular area. Loved all the shots of these magnificent homes.
    It reminds me of an area called Million Dollar Row in the Historical Area of Cleveland Hts. Ohio. A suburb of Cleveland.
    Happy New Year my friend!

    Reply
  4. Indah Susanti

    Beautiful houses and they are so huge! I saw some heritage houses in Minneapolis as well, and I was told they were pricey, but for sure they give the unique atmosphere to the neighbourhood.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      I have spent a fair amount of time in Minneapolis over the years…..they have some incredible old Victorian homes!!! Wait till spring and summer in those neighborhoods with all of the large trees….best to you!! Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Meyer May House – Frank Lloyd Wright – Excerpts From A Photo Shoot | thewallgalleryblog

Leave a comment