Serene Hidden Lake – Featured Art Print

I was looking through my galleries for something that spoke “serene summer afternoon”….as we enter August with back to school starting to be discussed…seems like summer is starting to wind down slightly. What I wanted to depict is a scene that just says…”stay awhile and enjoy the summer afternoon”.

Serene Hidden Lake is a photograph I took a few years back of Hidden Lake. Hidden Lake is located a short hike from the ski village of Whistler in British Columbia. The day was perfect as my wife, my youngest daughter and I set out on this short hike to Hidden Lake. What you don’t see in the picture is the picnic tables and benches located on this side of the lake to just sit, enjoy and take in Mother Nature. Perfect setting!!

As with most of my photography there is usually a story associated with my photo shoots. The story behind this shot is what the three of us call “The Bear Incident”. As we wrapped up our afternoon and started our hike back chatting and just enjoying each others company, we were greeted by a pack of black bears (ok it was just three) wandering onto the path not to far ahead of us. My brain started going through the do’s and don’ts of what to do when you encountered bears in this area. I remember reading don’t show fear…no sudden movements…and remove yourself as quickly and quietly from the area as you can. We all three froze at the same moment and keeping eye contact with the pack (ok…just three again)…we slowly started backing up. The bears did give us a look, but apparently didn’t think we were worthy of their time and trotted off into the woods away from us. Ok…so that’s the bear story…no large grizzly attacking us or anything like that…but did give us all a moment of “Crap…now what do we do” (Ok the word wasn’t crap, but you get the idea). Thoughts?

 

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

23 thoughts on “Serene Hidden Lake – Featured Art Print

  1. Teagan Geneviene

    !!!! Yikes… Kirt, when it comes to wild bears, more than one qualifies as a pack. Heck, one is a pack! Forgetting the bears… okay, trying to forget the bears, you are so right. What a serene looking place. ”stay awhile and enjoy the summer afternoon” — absolutely. Hugs on the wing.

    Reply
  2. Darlene

    A lovely spot indeed. Glad you survived to tell the bear story. Black bears aren´t too aggressive but I did meet someone who had a bad experience with a grizzly and has the scars to prove it. The play dead advice we used to get, doesn´t work! I do love the Whistler area.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks for stopping by Darlene….I do know the bears around Whistler are use to the human element as they do wander close to the village more often than not!! Glad they weren’t grizzlies!!

      Reply
  3. philosophermouseofthehedge

    I can hear the quiet. Mountain lakes always do serene spectacularly. But the tale is anything but serene. One bear is bigger than many packs of animals haha. That’s something we always worry about – glad to know things can turn out well
    Great image and story

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thank you very much….my story probably sucked serenity out of the picture, but we really did have a serene afternoon in spite of the bear!!thanks for stopping by!!

      Reply
  4. Jet Eliot

    From picnicking at a serene lake to sharing the trail with three bears. That’s a good story, Kirt, and your parentheticals had me chuckling. Coming across even one bear that up-close gets the quiescent heart racing in a second. Glad it all turned out fine. Great photo.

    Reply
  5. lorriebowden

    I think my heart skipped a beat, Kirt, just reading the story!! I am a “screamer” when suddenly frightened so I don’t know how I would fare in the same situation! I rivaled Michael Phelps swimming times when I encountered a shark in the Bahamas…yes…they said whatever you do…DON’T SWIM AWAY! HaHa!!
    I think the photo is exquisite and you absolutely captured “stay awhile and enjoy the summer afternoon”. And by the way…it is hard to believe we are talking about summer winding down!!!
    Hope you are well…I’ve missed being around ❤

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Lorrie…have missed having you around!! Thanks for stopping by!! In Whistler they have literature all over the place about what to do when encountering a bear, so my assumption is that the bears interact with people as our encounter was just outside of the village itself…still gave a moment of pause!! Thanks for the compliment on the photo!!

      Reply
  6. Writing to Freedom

    Unbearable! I would love to see bears and know it’s a risky encounter. Putting aside the bears, Hidden Lake is a lovely setting for a picnic and your photo invites us to rest a while. Thanks for sharing your talent and adventures, Kirt.

    Reply
  7. Sue Slaght

    Three bears is definitely a pack. One is more than enough! Yikes. Thank goodness they were not interested and weren’t feeling threatened or the story could have been quite different. What a contrast to your beautiful serene photo.

    Reply
  8. Dan Antion

    I’m with Teagan, three is a ‘pack’ and certainly qualifies for adult language. I’ve been to Whistler and it is a beautiful area. I’ve never seen it without snow, so this is a nice photo. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  9. gillmorris

    Beautiful photo Kirt. 3 bears is more than enough to contend with, so I can imagine it would be quite scary (even with less than that) Have a great day 🙂

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Serene Hidden Lake-Featured Art Print: | By the Mighty Mumford

Leave a Reply

