The Jacaranda Tree – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot

We were in Los Angeles for Memorial Day weekend (weekend before last) visiting our daughter and son-in-law, but more importantly our first grandchild (just hit the 6 month mark). We try and go as often as we can for obvious reasons. I volunteered to do the daily stroller outing into the neighborhood each day while we were there (she loves to be outdoors enjoying the fresh air, sights, birds, etc.). I always wandered up into the hills with her as the climbing was good exercise for grandpa and the views were spectacular for both of us (more on that next week in my post). One of the things I particularly enjoyed was the Jacaranda trees in full bloom.

If you’re not familiar with Jacaranda trees, they are native to subtropical regions of Mexico, Central America, South America, Cuba, Jamaica and the Bahamas. Having said that, this particular species of the Jacaranda family has been widely planted across the globe and regions well known for them now include South Africa, Australia and in the US, Florida, Phoenix, San Diego and Los Angeles. I love this time of year when they are in full bloom. I have seen pockets of neighborhoods across Southern California where they have been planted in abundance and this time of year you have a sea of purple.

I have attached five shots I took on one of our outings giving you an idea of the beauty of these trees in bloom.

Jacaranda One

You can see how they add a dramatic touch of color and of course you have the mess of dropped petals to contend with (well worth it to me…we had one at the end of our driveway in San Diego and the concrete was always covered in purple as the petals dropped).

Jacaranda Two

This shot shows two next to a driveway on our walk through the hillsides.

Jacaranda Three

The trees are scattered throughout these hillside neighborhoods and give you that pop of color.

Jacaranda Four

This gives you a close up look at the blooms…

Jacaranda Five

as does this final shot. Thoughts?

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

32 thoughts on “The Jacaranda Tree – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot

  1. Darlene

    I love the Jacaranda trees. We have them here in Spain and last year I didn’t even know what they were called. Just loved the splash of purple everywhere. Your pictures are great. It seems like your granddaughter likes the outdoors just like you do. What a perfect way to bond. Enjoy every minute.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      We are….we get the honor of watching her at the end of June for a week while her parents are traveling to Italy…we are soooo looking forward to it!!

      Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Got to watch her get her first helping of food…she loves it…finally got her off formula and breast milk. I also had the priviledge of volunteering to change her diaper forgetting it would be the first one with food rolling through…bit messy, but she thought it was funny…so there you go!!

      Reply
  2. roseelaineblog

    Lovely photographs I can feel the peace. It’s strange you think you can’t love anyone more than your own children and then along come grandchildren โค๏ธ๐Ÿ’œ such precious cargo ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Reply
  3. Annie

    Those are unusual trees that I have admired on my visits to my sis in San Diego. Do the purple petals stain concrete walkways and driveways? Maybe they just dry up and blow away. Enjoy that first miracle grandchild. I am at number nine now and counting. Each one is so special.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      I hear you on the grandchildren…we have three daughters…oldest two married with the one grandchild by our middle daughter. Youngest is getting married in July, but they want to wait….
      I love the Jacaranda trees…they do stain slightly, but nothing that doesn’t either wash away with a hose or rain…worth the mess to me..thanks for stopping by!!

      Reply
  4. reocochran

    I especially like the Jacaranda blossoms cascading in the final photograph, Kirt! All of them are such beautiful and almost old- fashioned, in their appearance. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
      1. reocochran

        Yes, I can see that and are they as aromatic, Kirt? If you mentioned their scent pardon me for missing it! ๐Ÿ˜‰ The first grandbaby seems to be the light in most grandparents eye. I am very close to my “first” and he is nearly 13 as is my step-granddaughter. Yikes! Teens so soon. . . Enjoy and savor every precious moments, needless to say. ๐ŸŒธ

      2. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

        No scent to speak of to answer your first question. Grandchildren….Time goes by fast….we were beginning to think we wouldn’t live long enough to see any. ๐Ÿ˜€

      3. reocochran

        You are both young and have plenty of time! Being healthy inside and out really is a great start, Kirt.
        In my 40’s, I had some weight and cholesterol to work on. In 2 years, I lost 45 lbs with my teacher asst and my cholesterol dropped to within normal. So glad I did it before I had even more problems. Grandchildren are such blessings and hope you are having fun with yours while the grown “kids” are on vacation overseas. Safe travel mercies wished them by me. ๐Ÿ•Š

  5. purpleslobinrecovery

    Thank you!! I love jacaranda trees!! Well, you know I do since they’re purple! I love it when they bloom here in FL!! If I had known they stain concrete purple, I would have planted one!! lol

    Reply
  6. Pingback: LA Hills – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot | thewallgalleryblog

    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      I love Jacaranda trees….Phoenix has its fair share in the older more established areas….I don’t see many in the newer areas around here….guessing they require more water…newer areas here are much more water conscious! Thanks for stopping by!!

      Reply
  7. The Crazy Crone

    Absolutely adore jacaranda trees. They used to line the shores of the Swan River in Western Australia in spring, and the river looked wonderful with splashes of purple on the shore. In Queensland they lined an avenue leading into Boonah, a small town we lived in, and they were all over the place in Brisbane. They would flower the same time as the Poinciana tree in Qld, so the splashes of bright purple and deep orange-red looked wonderful.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Living in San Diego with them for so many years, I was always told they were native to Australia….I knew Australia had tons of them, but didn’t realize they had been imported there just like So Cal, etc!! Love the trees…miss having one in our yard!! Thanks for the info and for stopping by!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

