Pondering The Surf – Featured Art Print

This particular art print is something a little different from my usual norm. I typically don’t focus in on people, but in this case there was a mood element that caught my eye. The look of solitude and intense thought is what drew me to this scene of a man just standing and “pondering” the surf. To create the mood I was perceiving, I used the same technique I had used on the New Orleans series I featured last week. With that series, it complimented the old world look… in this case it helped create a subtle mood to highlight the sense of what I saw in this scene.  Because of that element, I have also used this print twice in my Inspiration Gallery with a prayer overlay on one and the Lord’s Prayer as on overlay on the other. 

Whether it’s a black and white or color photograph or one of my digitally painted art prints, my attempt is to capture a moment or a scene that invokes some type of an emotional or visual response. Thoughts? (side note: the setting for this print is a seclude beach on Kauai in the Hawaiian Islands. The beach is accessed by hiking a trail that takes you up and along the cliffs of the Na Pali coastline and then down onto this beach) 

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

29 thoughts on “Pondering The Surf – Featured Art Print

  1. Writing to Freedom

    Interesting image Kirt. It seems thoughtful, a little dark and hints of things changing or is that me projecting? 🙂 I love the ocean and it tends to stir things up for me when I’m at the shore.

    Reply
  2. Jet Eliot

    You did a nice job of capturing the intensity of this man’s isolation and contemplation, Kirt. There’s more to surfing than just jumping in, and you expressed that well.

    Reply
  3. Teagan Geneviene

    Secluded Hawaiian beaches and intense pondering to go hand-in-hand, Kirt. 🙂
    I consider a long, long ago trip to Hawaii my only “real” vacation. I went alone, and it was even my first trip on a plane. What an adventure. And yes, it was filled with profound pondering. Your print brings back those feelings. A dark world, pushed back by the sunlight on the ocean and the rush of the surf. Yes. It is subtly evocative. Well done. Hugs.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thank you very much Teagan, I truly appreciate the compliment!!! Every time I come across this print it makes me stop and “ponder”. Have a great week!!

      Reply
  4. Sue Slaght

    Wonderful to see you branching out to this different type of photo. It truly takes me to all the amazing beaches I have stood on and gazed outward. I think that says a lot about your art when it can instantly transport those who look at it to a fabulous memory.

    Reply
  5. Annie

    Broad strokes and color gave me a van Gogh feel to your piece of work. I think the man was walking along when something caught his attention in the surf. Maybe it was the waves breaking on the rocks or something else that we will never know.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      That is one of the reasons I shy away from this type of picture because yes you do need their permission, which I did get in this situation. Great question!!

      Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thank you Christy…I had a client ask me a few years back for The Lord’s Prayer as an overlay on one of my prints….this print came to mind and it ended up as one of my prints in my Inspiration Gallery….thanks for stopping by!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

