Getting Your Christmas Tree

christmas-tree-shopping

I just want to start this post with saying that the attached picture is what is in my head when I think of going to get a Christmas Tree. Do we really go out to the woods to cut down a tree…only in a fantasy world. When our girls were young, we always went to a Christmas Tree farm to find just the right tree…anything less than 9 feet wasn’t acceptable.Β After the year of the tree falling and needing wired to the wall, good old Dad went out and bought a fake tree. I won’t bore you with all of the details of the mishaps of putting the tree up that year, but suffice it to say, it put me over the edge and a fake tree was now my plan of attack. The following year when I came home with this 9 foot artificial tree, there was a minor revolt in the household. My wife and the two oldest girls refused to help put it up. Our youngest was more than willing to help Dad with the tree and it became our tradition to put the tree together, just the two of us and then the rest would come in to decorate. Ok, so she was only two when this started, but the branches were color coded and alphabetized. Over the years she learned her alphabet and colors quite well. It has become a family joke that Dad taught her how to read putting the tree together. Fast forward 24+ years and the tree still looks really good…(true story)…

I share all of this as every family has their traditions around getting their Christmas Β tree, putting it up and decorating it. I wanted to share what is in my head when I assemble the alphabetized and color coded branches of our now 24 year old tree, the attached picture!!

May the Joy of the Season be with you and your family!!

 

37 thoughts on “Getting Your Christmas Tree

  1. Writing to Freedom

    Fun story Kirt. I prefer real trees for the wonderful smells. And I’ve had artificial trees for the ease too. Being single, I get to change up my traditions, or more accurately, I don’t have very many. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      We are in LA with our daughter and son-in-law since Thanksgiving…their tradition is a real tree which they get the Friday after Thanksgiving. Big 11 footer…so beautiful…love the smell too…

      Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks Teagan!! We are in LA..since Thanksgiving….we welcomed our new granddaughter into the world last Sat!! So cool….just seems like yesterday our daughter (her mom) was that small….best to you!

      Reply
      1. Teagan Geneviene

        What wonderful news! Congratulations. Wishing the little one all the best things in life. And maybe a creative photo of baby and grandparents…? πŸ™‚ Enjoy LA. Hugs all around.

  2. lorriebowden

    I love this story, Kirt…I could see the two of you holding up different branches and working together so beautifully! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚ Wishing you many blessings during the Christmas season!

    Reply
  3. Sue Slaght

    Loved your Christmas tree history Kirt. We have actually gone into a forest and gotten trees in our early days. It’s an ongoing debate at our house with real vs artificial.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      I do have to say in all honesty…I did buy a really nice artificial tree and every year I am amazed at how well it looks. Having said that…I also enjoy our Thanksgiving in LA with our son in law and daughter as the Friday after thanksgiving is the day they go and get a huge real tree….love the smell!!! It was a week ago tonight after getting the tree up and lights on when my daughter went into labor….a week ago tomorrow our grand daughter came into the world. 😎😎😎😎

      Reply
  4. reocochran

    I forget if I told you that on December 10th I listed authors, musicians and your photographs and prints under “Art” and how people could get their Christmas gifts by shopping among fellow bloggers. It has Christmas and Crescent Moon in the title. πŸ™‚

    Reply
      1. reocochran

        You are very welcome and thank you for our continued friendship, Kirt! I think you understand how I try to circle back and comment but sometimes am behind. . . this shows your kind spirit.
        Hope you and the whole family have gorgeous weather, warm moments and love is the center of your holidays! xo

  5. Mabel Kwong

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading how you and your family put up the Christmas tree over the years. It sounds like it is never a dull moment, and decorating it is the easiest, and most fun, part. Who doesn’t want to join in that πŸ˜€ My family has never had a Christmas tree, but when we visit relatives or friends during this time of the year, we really like admiring their tree πŸ™‚ By the way, I came from Sue’s blog πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

