Scorpion Gulch – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot

I posted excerpts from a photo shoot that I did with my daughter a couple of weeks ago (Heritage Square: Phoenix, Arizona). As a continuation of that day this photo shoot was another stop we made. Scorpion Gulch is in South Mountain Park at the base of the mountain. The minute we came across this, we knew we had to stop. Scorpion Gulch was a store built in 1936 by William Lunsford. He also built his residence right next door. The property is located on Central Ave and is the main road to go into South Mountain Park on your way up to the summit. The buildings were first listed on the historic preservation register in 1990. For more information, click the Scorpion Gulch link to Wikipedia.


The first shot is the store itself. Located to the right of this structure is the remnant of the residence, which is the focus of this photo shoot.

Scorpion Gulch Store built in 1936 at the base of South Mountain Park in Phoenix, Arizona. The owner also built his residence which is located to the right of the store. The property was listed in the Historical Preservation Registery in 1990.

Scorpion Gulch 1


The second picture is the front of the residence. Notice the castle-like turret on the left. I love the stonework and the attention he gave to detail.

Scorpion Gulch 2

Scorpion Gulch 2


The next capture gives you an idea of the condition of the walls and obviously there isnโ€™t a roof any more.

Scorpion Gulch 3

Scorpion Gulch 3


The building stretches back and around giving you unique angles and views. The wall on the right (which is really not in the shot) is the back of the fireplace on the next shot.

Scorpion Gulch 4

Scorpion Gulch 4


I fell in love with this fireplace; can you believe the size of it and the detail of the rock? As an enclosed room, I am sure it was stunning.

Scorpion Gulch 5

Scorpion Gulch 5


This and the rest of the shots are taken from the same spot, just rotating to my right. I am back at the front of the property with the store on my immediate left and the front of the house on my immediate right. The house stretches back on the right and then juts out in front of us creating a large โ€œLโ€. I would assume this was a type of courtyard in its day. If you look back through the window and doorway combo on the middle right, you can see the fireplace from the prior shot.

Scorpion Gulch 6

Scorpion Gulch 6


This picture gives you a better perspective of just how far back the house goes. On the extreme right of the frame is the base to the castle turret we saw in the capture of the front of the house.

Scorpion Gulch 7

Scorpion Gulch 7


This last one looks back towards the front of the house with a very large and old Saguaro Cactus framing the shot.

Scorpion Gulch 8

Scorpion Gulch 8

Thoughts?


Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

 

 

28 thoughts on “Scorpion Gulch – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot

      1. MichelleMarie

        Oh I agree. You have so many lovely places you visit. It always amazes me what stays. When I went back to my childhood home I noticed all my Pa’s brick and stone work was still standing after 50+ years. It was odd to see that. I told my little nephew about my Pa building the walls from stone and some brick and he was amazed his Gpa’s work was still there. Kinda cool! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

        How awesome is that!!! It does speak to the craftsmanship used by your pa and by the gentleman who built the store and house at scorpion gulch!!! Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Darlene

    I love places like this as well. The last picture is my favourite the old Saguaro Cactus adds so much to it. This place must hold many stories.

    Reply
  2. Jet Eliot

    Fascinating piece of history, Kirt. Your photos did a terrific job of capturing the uniqueness and love put into building the house and store. I enjoyed the link too. A loving man with a big heart as well as building skills. Once there was a well too. Fun post Kirt.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      It’s now part of the park and is being maintained by the park system…they went in and did some structural updating a few years back to keep it safe and sound…there are picnic tables around for the time of year when its not too hot. I truly was surprised to come across something like this!

      Reply
  3. Teagan Geneviene

    Kirt, I think this is my favorite of all the great photo shoots you’ve shared here. What a wonderful building. I would’ve never expected such a lovely building from the “Scorpion” name. (Ugh! Hate those things!) I’m sad that it wasn’t preserved, but glad they kept the ruins rather than doing away with them. You’re right — that is a grand fireplace. I had such fun that I had to share it everywhere. Hugs

    Reply
    1. purpleslobinrecovery

      Hi Teagan! Fancy meeting up with you here, on this tour! I’m with you, about the name!! Just the name “Scorpion Gulch” evoked a faintly scary shudder! I expected to see them crawling all over my feet, as we stand there! That store and house stood the test of time! WEll, maybe not with an “A”, since there’e no roof….
      I love to look at old houses, and this one is no exception.
      The stonework is exemplary!!

      Reply
  4. Sue Slaght

    First of all the name is brilliant. Or possibly terrifying depending on your perspective. How fun to explore this historical site. My top pick for photos is the one with the creative angle of the windows where you capture a third window in the background. Felt as though I was there wandering with you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

