Heritage Square; Phoenix, Arizona – Excerpts From A Photo Shoot

My oldest daughter and her husband live near us here in Arizona. She teaches and has been out on break for the summer. She has always had a love of photography and will periodically give me a call and suggest a photo shoot somewhere in the Phoenix area that she has been researching. She wanted to get together and do a shoot before she headed back to the classroom and her students. This go around, she picked Heritage Square in downtown Phoenix. Neither of us had been there and it sounded like a great opportunity.

Heritage Square is located on block 14 of the original townsite of Phoenix. The crowning jewel is the restored Rosson House Museum. The square celebrates the city’s striking Victorian past with restored homes and buildings of that era, some housing award-winning restaurants, others museums. The square also adjoins Science Park, home of Arizona Science Center.


The first shot was my suggestion to help her work with depth of field through aperture setting and shutter speed. The setting is between two of the restored homes looking towards the Rosson House.

Heritage Square 1

Heritage Square – Phoenix, Arizona


This second capture grabbed my attention because of the wrap around porch, typical for this style of home in this era.

Heritage Square, Phoenix, Arizona,

Heritage Square – Phoenix, Arizona


And of course what type of a reminder of the era would be complete without the carriage parked in front of the carriage house for the Rosson mansion.

Heritage Square, Arizona

Heritage Square – Phoenix, Arizona


My last two shots are of the Rosson House Museum. The home has been completely restored including furnishings true to the era.

Heritage Square, Phoenix, Arizona

Heritage Square – Phoenix, Arizona

Heritage Square, Phoenix, Arizona

Heritage Square – Phoenix, Arizona

Beautifully done, the square is a great addition to downtown as it celebrates the history of what we know today as modern day Phoenix. Many of you might not be aware of the history of Phoenix. The region has hosted many nomadic tribes dating back to 9,000 BC, but was actually settled in about 1 AD for agriculture. A canal system was developed within the first 500 years enabling agriculture to flourish. Agriculture today is still one of the major industries throughout the surrounding desert. For detailed information; Wikipedia, History of Phoenix, Arizona.

Thoughts?


Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

25 thoughts on “Heritage Square; Phoenix, Arizona – Excerpts From A Photo Shoot

    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      My pleasure…..we both learned new things about Phoenix through this shoot….I was blown away to learned the extent of the canal systems the native Americans constructed originally.

      Reply
  1. Dan Antion

    These are beautiful photos, Kirt, it looks like a wonderful area. On a personal note, I really appreciate the image of the wrap-around porch at Heritage Square. We are planning to add an overhanging roof to a porch at the back of our house. The portion behind the support beam will be angled at the height of the roof rafters, while the portion that extends beyond the support is designed to have a fascia and full soffit. The design makes sense to me, but this phot gave me a chance to see what it might look like.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Glad I could help…thanks Dan. I will tell you what attracted me to that shot with the wrap around porch…it brought me back to midwest homes growing up in Iowa…that was common and I remember my grandmothers….we would sit out there in the evenings and socialize with the neighbors who were doing the same thing. Good luck with your project!! Sounds great!!

      Reply
      1. Dan Antion

        Thanks Kirt. It’s a simple project, but it poses some interesting challenges, not the least of which seems to be getting a building permit. I wonder if my brother knows of any older homes like you describe. I’ll be visiting him soon and we normally do some exploring.

  2. Jet Eliot

    Fantastic architecture and photos, Kirt. It is wonderful that the city has retained and celebrated this historical section. Equally as wonderful that you and your daughter shared this project together.

    Reply
  3. Teagan Geneviene

    It makes me feel kind of silly, but I never thought about a Victorian Era in Phoenix… but of course there would have been. o_O I love to look at Victorian buildings, so this was a fun photo shoot for me, Kirt. It’s great that you got to spend some happy quality time with your daughter before her break is over. Gosh… where has this year gone? Mega hugs!

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      My daughter and I both were blown away by the Victorian architecture. I guess I expected Adobe structures in the early days not Victorian…..we learned a lot😀

      Reply
  4. reocochran

    I like Victorian homes to tour, as well as the museum and carriage house. The photographs are gorgeous as always. I noticed the way you captured the azure blue sky in the window reflections, Kirt. Excellent photos to display and enjoy. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Good eye, Robin…..most people wouldn’t have noticed the sky in the window…a very surprising find to say the least…I just never expected Victorian anything in Phoenix!

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Scorpion Gulch – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot | thewallgalleryblog

  6. MSnubutterflies

    Great pictures! I’m not surprised most people think of Phoenix or AZ for that matter as a place not having Victorian style buildings but there are actually quite a few places that do and have maintained this history. I don’t know if you have ever been there but Prescott and a lot of the little towns in Northern AZ such as Taylor/Snowflake are a great place to visit if you like that type of thing.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks for stopping by!! Interesting you should mention Prescott….the first time I went, I was so surprised with the type of architecture you mentioned. Then the town square with the courthouse in the middle took me back to my childhood and the town I spent my early years in (Clarinda, Iowa…it is the county seat for whatever county the town is in and it has the same thing…courthouse in the middle with the shops all the way around the town square).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

