Rattlesnake Ledge – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot

I love to hike and since it’s summer here in the desert, hiking is limited due to the heat. We are headed up to Seattle this weekend for a visit with our youngest and her fiancé. The trip will include wedding dress shopping for the ladies and hiking for the guys (camera in hand always). One of my favorite hiking trails is Rattlesnake Ledge. The trailhead is located by Rattlesnake Lake not to far from North Bend, Washington. I love the sheer beauty of the Central Cascades and this trail certainly contains that. I have attached three shots from a hike a few years back that will give you an idea what I am talking about.

The first shot is the beginning and the end of the trail. Look down at the lake and you see the parking lot? That is where the trailhead starts. A couple of hours and about a 1200 foot elevation gain and you are on these rocks over-looking the lake. The ledge itself is much larger than depicted in this picture with numerous rock formations like this around the ledge. All told there has always been about 50+ people on the ledge whenever I have been there and yes, it’s busy with people, but not crowded.

Rattlesnake Ledge 1

Rattlesnake Ledge 1


The other two shots come from viewpoints along the way. Your hike is mostly in dense forest, with an occasional viewpoint as you make your way up. Stunning country and a beautiful hike.

Rattlesnake Ledge 2

Rattlesnake Ledge 2

Rattlesnake Ledge 3

Rattlesnake Ledge 3

Thoughts?


Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

Tsu: KirtWallGallery

20 thoughts on “Rattlesnake Ledge – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot

  1. Darlene

    Have a great weekend. I love the Seattle area. We did a lot of motorcycling in the Cascades and area when we lived in Vancouver, BC. Look forwrad to more of your pictures.

    Reply
  2. Dan Antion

    You know I’m waiting for the photos you’re going to share Kirt. Thanks for putting up this appetizer post. I love those little break out points where you discover why you’re hiking, Be careful, but enjoy the beautiful Cascades.

    Reply
  3. reocochran

    The gorgeous precipice, the incredible ledge and the stunning vista were all breath-taking shots, Kirt! Hope you had a wonderful vacation and special 4th of July!

    Reply
  4. Teagan Geneviene

    What glorious views! I see that somehow I’ve been missing your posts. And I don’t see the one with the sketch of the old truck here… Are your posts coming from two different blogs? You don’t have to take time to answer. I know the WordPress gremlins have been wreaking havoc with just about everybody lately. I thought I had escaped the gremlins’ notice, but apparently not. 😀 Hugs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

