Hoover Dam – Excerpts From a Photoshoot

On the same trip where I captured a picture of the Colorado River down stream from Hoover Dam, I also took some shots of Hoover Dam and Lake Meade. Over the years we have toured the dam a number of times with our kids as they grew up. The last time we had been there was when the highway 93 bypass bridge was being built. It is located just downstream from the dam site and is a four lane highway with a pedestrian sidewalk arching across a very deep canyon. We were looking forward to the walk across and the view of the dam from that perspective. I have to admit, it is breathtaking, not only the view, but the height of the arched bridge. It was very crowded and the midpoint was next to impossible for a picture with the crowd of people wanting a shot from that perspective. I realized I would have to settle with a slightly off center composition, but was very pleased with the final result. Prior to the bridge opening, this shot could have only come from a helicopter. In the capture, you will notice the old highway 93 winding its way down to the dam. The road is now used to get to the parking areas for the tours. Also, halfway down that highway is a turn off that takes you to a lookout point where I took the photographs of Lake Meade. That view is very dramatic also, with the deep blue water and the colors of the desert mountains surrounding it. Thoughts?

Hoover Dam 1

Hoover Dam 1

Hoover Dam 2

Hoover Dam 2

Hoover Dam 3

Hoover Dam 3

 


Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

Tsu: KirtWallGallery

21 thoughts on “Hoover Dam – Excerpts From a Photoshoot

  1. reocochran

    Kirt. wow! I would love to go there someday! I have been to a few places out west but not there! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your gorgeous perspectives on the Hoover Dam. Hope you have a wonderful week and into the Fourth of July! 🙂 (Heading on Friday for a week at my Mom’s senior apartment place, which has her waking up at 7:30 for her meds! We shall be happy to spend time together, along with my brothers, sister in law, oldest daughter will bring her kids for the Lake Erie fireworks display in Bay Village, Ohio. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Enjoy your 4th of July!!! We are heading up to Seattle for a long weekend with our youngest and her fiancé…wedding dress shopping for next summer!! Seems so surreal,that our baby is getting married…

      Hoover Dam side note: our girls still talk about how we quizzed them when they were growing up after taking the tour of Hoover Dam….how many gallons of concrete,etc….we just wanted to make sure the three of them were paying attention….:)

      Reply
  2. Sue Slaght

    WOW! That first photo is a jaw dropper. The contrast of colors of the rock and water in all of them is stunning but the perspective of that first one with the dam is amazing. Perhaps it is the thought of what would happen if the dam were to burst. Amazing.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      I thought of you and Dave on the Sydney Bridge when Gail and I walked on this one for that shot….I have a real issue with heights and it was all I could do to get up to the rail to take a shot and I kept thinking how much more dramatic it was for you guys walking that one…..in other words I kept saying “man up you whimp” in my head😜

      Reply
  3. Darlene

    Excellent shots! I have not been to Hoover Dam but enjoyed Grande Coulee Dam a few years ago. We went back in the evening and watched a laser show on the water. Amazing!

    Reply
  4. Dan Antion

    What a beautiful photo of the dam, Kirt. You’ve reinforced the notion that I must visit this dam at some point. I don’t know how I’ve missed it, I’ve always wanted to go, but something always seems to derail the plans. Thanks for sharing your photo!

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      My pleasure…..we have toured it numerous times while our girls were growing up…..it still boggles my mind to hear the engineering feats it took to construct it. Thanks for stopping by!!

      Reply
  5. Nancy

    That first photo is phenomenal! All are beautiful but I love how you shot that first one! Awesome!
    The colors in these photos are amazingly beautiful! Great job my friend!

    Reply
  6. Teagan Geneviene

    When the scale of the dam sinks in, the first shot is jaw dropping, exciting. Then you followed with compositions featuring that beautiful, calming shade of blue. Nicely done post, Kirt! I’ve never been to Hoover, but I’ve seen a couple of videos about the overall facility. It’s astonishingly big. A fascinating subject. Thanks for the views. Have a thriving Thursday. Hugs!

    Reply
  7. archecotech

    Kirt, great pictures. I grew up part of my life in Boulder City, which I’m sure you visited if you were at Lake Mead. The lake has changed so much from the 1970’s. If you look you will see the top of the white line on the rocks. That my friend is how full the lake was back then. The lake showed a little white but not like it does now. I have a lot of memories of this lake, our family owned a boat which during the summer was on that lake quite a bit. Miss it, thanks for the pictures.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      My wife and I were talking about the white line…..we have had the pleasure of boating on the lake a few times over the years…..love it and have always enjoyed Boulder City!! Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  8. debibradford

    I walked that bridge a couple of years ago. It’s breathtaking, and not a little frightening for those with fear of heights! Fortunately, it wasn’t overly crowded as we were there in the winter months. Still, one incredible sight not to be missed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

