Setting Sun On Storm Clouds – Excerpts From A Photo Shoot

During the summer months in this part of the planet, we get what is called monsoon thunderstorms. Tropical moisture from the Gulf of California and the Pacific Ocean is pulled up into the desert southwest here in the United States. With the heat and higher humidity, thunderstorms build during the day, sometimes very quickly and then the downpours begin. They can exhaust themselves almost as quickly as they form. All of that is to say, we get some pretty spectacular looking clouds during this process. I have attached two particular shots as an example. These shots were taken on different days, but in the same area of the sky from our house. In both cases the sun was setting and enhanced the look of the pictures with brilliant color.

I am getting ready to create two new prints for my Inspiration Gallery and had this overwhelming urge to locate two photographs such as these. This is a case where the picture is speaking to me before a bible verse or prayer. Sometimes it works that way, but usually I come across a verse or prayer first and then determine what art print or photograph to put it on.


The Setting Sun On The Developing Thunderheads

The Setting Sun On The Developing Thunderheads

And The Clouds Parted As The Sun Set

And The Clouds Parted As The Sun Set

I’ll share the finished prints when I have completed them, but wanted to share these two shots. Thoughts?


 

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

Tsu: KirtWallGallery

16 thoughts on “Setting Sun On Storm Clouds – Excerpts From A Photo Shoot

  1. reocochran

    I like both of these, Kirt, for different reasons. The first is so unique, less common photograph. Gorgeous effect of the contact between bright, fluffy clouds to the dark ones, stands out for me. It is like saying, “I am here, trust in me.”
    The setting sun on the dissipating thunderheads is beautiful and reminds me of when Noah finds land after the flood. Hope your holiday season is full of joy! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

