Hot Air Balloons – Featured Art Prints

I wanted to share a couple of prints that I just added to my Hot Air Balloon Gallery. Both are from a series of photos I did last winter at a Hot Air Balloon Festival here in the Phoenix area. Using a couple of those shots as the inspiration, I have created these two prints using a pastel colored chalk technique.

When I think of hot air balloons, I think of bright colors. I think the color and the shapes are what attract us visually to them. In keeping with that aspect, I wanted to use bright pastel colors to represent the scene of this event. As I mentioned in an earlier post where I shared the photographs, the event is the annual Hot Air Balloon Festival in Avondale, Arizona (Phoenix metropolitan area). The balloon envelopes are inflated in the early morning hours for flights and races. After that series of events, the balloons are deflated until the evening hours when the envelopes are again inflated, but this time they stay on the ground. As evening turns into night with the darkening sky, the balloon operators shoot large flames up into the envelope of the balloon illuminating the brightly colored balloons. At this event the operators were synchronized to music, making the series of balloons rotate the glow to the beat of the tunes. This nighttime spectacular is referred to as The Desert Glow. It is a stunning scene to behold with the contrast of light and dark and the bright vivid colors of the balloon envelopes. Thoughts?

I invite you to visit my Hot Air Balloons Gallery to enjoy these prints and many more.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

Tsu: KirtWallGallery

29 thoughts on “Hot Air Balloons – Featured Art Prints

  1. lorriebowden

    Kirt I really love these prints!! I was in Albuquerque and every morning on my drive I saw the hot air balloons ascending in the sky…it was so beautiful. Your prints are wonderful! ❤

    Reply
      1. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

        Once, many years ago when I was living in Europe. I tried many times while we lived in CA but I let my work be in control then and of course Tom’s illness. I’ve always wanted to take others but it seems other responsibilities stood in the way. There’s something magical about floating quietly over the land below and having actual time to contemplate that which you see. Maybe someday again I’ll have money to contemplate such an adventure.

      2. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

        We have only done it once…..San Diego has sunset flights starting on the coast and drifting inland. I have a height thing, but so enjoyed the peacefulness of quietly drifting above the landscape!

Leave a Reply

