I Will Give You Rest – Featured Art Print

This week, I wanted to feature a new print in my Inspiration Gallery titled: I Will Give You Rest. This art print is a color photograph of a yellow rose blossom I took last fall from my daughter’s garden in Los Angeles. Timing is everything. It was the last full bloom of roses for the season and I happened to be there at the right time. As an overlay onto the color photograph, I placed a quote from Matthew 11:28 which reads: “Come to me, all of you who are tired and have heavy loads, and I will give you rest.”

What a great reminder of the peace that is available to us through faith. I don’t know about you, but I find myself getting stressed and overloaded with all of the things we encounter in our everyday lives. We all have something…whether it be a health issue with yourself or a loved one…problems at work or with a marriage or just everyday living and trying to make ends meet. The world is broken and filled with problems, but we have refuge and whenever you feel the need to rest, remember this quote from the bible.

 

I also wanted to share the process I go through when I create a new art print for my Inspiration Gallery. No two prints ever get created in quite the same manner and here’s what I mean. Often I will come across a bible verse or a personal prayer of mine that I think would make a great inspirational quote and then I search through my collection for the appropriate print. Somehow, when I find the correct match, I just know it. I also do it in the reverse way as I did with this print. I go through my collection looking for something that speaks to me as a potential and keep that in mind. In this case, I was going through some of my color photographic prints and stopped at this one. What hit me was the way I cropped the original picture with the space at the top and I remember thinking…”That is a perfect space for a quote in my Inspiration Gallery”. Shortly thereafter, I came across this verse and knew I had a match. What could be more symbolic of rest than relaxing in a rose garden? The other methodology I use may sound a little strange, but sometimes both verse and art print pop into my head simultaneously and I know I have to go with it. Ultimately, what I am trying to create, is an artistic reminder for those times (all too often, unfortunately) when we are overwhelmed and need that quick visual that we aren’t alone on this journey. Thoughts?

I invite you to visit my Inspiration Gallery to enjoy this print and many more.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

Tsu: KirtWallGallery

26 thoughts on “I Will Give You Rest – Featured Art Print

  1. teagan geneviene

    It’s lovely, Kirt. Well done. There is also something peaceful about that soft yellow rose in full bloom.
    I really should investigate Instagram… There are just so many “shoulds” that i don’t do when it comes to indie… Hugs! 🙂

    Reply
  2. lorriebowden

    Ah! Kirt! Love the print…love the verse…love the explanation of your creative process! You describe so perfectly the way art can come alive and almost demand what it will be. I am grateful for this process…and I trust this process. Hope you are well…thanks for reminding me that most things are just meant to “be!” ❤

    Reply
  3. Sue Slaght

    Thanks for sharing your process and inspiration. It is a beautiful piece of art. The timing of the season and the verse fit so beautifully together.

    Reply
  4. Nancy

    What a lovely rose… When I saw it, it brought me peace! Your process for your inspiration is heartfelt and so glad you shared that with us.

    Reply
  5. reocochran

    I think Faith is international and knows no boundaries. Putting words of religious or inspirational thoughts with a photograph is wonderful, Kirt. You are passing on a wonderful gift to us all. Hugs for your continuous effort to make our lives peaceful and beautiful with your meaningful messages.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

