Camelback Mountain Hike – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

This week’s photo shoot comes from a hike my son-in-law and I did two weekends ago. We went to Camelback Mountain here in the Phoenix area for a hike. It was a beautiful Saturday morning with perfect weather. Camelback is well known for the steepness of the trail. You ascend 1200 feet in just over a mile. It’s very popular this time of year with the weather here in the 80’s and not yet the heat of the summer. The area is beautiful with red rock outcroppings rising from the desert floor. Never one to be without my camera, I had a great time as we ascended the trail. What I wanted to share today is a scene I caught with my camera and frankly couldn’t believe what I was seeing. So let me set the stage. We are about halfway up and I wanted to take a series of shots, so we stopped and stepped back into the mountain for me to take what I am about to share.

Camelback Mountain 1

Camelback Mountain 1

This first shot gives you an idea of what the trail looks like and the elevation gain above the desert floor. It is straight down beyond the fence and the climb we had just done reminded me of hiking up the pyramid in Chichen Itza (years ago you could walk up the steep stairs…that’s no longer possible due to safety reason which I can attest to having done it). So from this perspective, I move my viewing over to the right across a ravine where the trail will be taking us.

Camelback Mountain 2

Camelback Mountain 2

I took this shot for obvious reasons…it’s beautiful with the red rock and the green desert plants. So here’s what I want you to take a look at…towards the center of the frame, do you see the “white shirt” of someone on the face of the rock? Off to his right, you can see where the trail goes through the rocks…note the people. I got so entranced by this guy, that I just stopped shooting. Originally I thought he was rock climbing, but no, he was jogging…not walking, but jogging.

Camelback Mountain 3

Camelback Mountain 3

This shot (#3) is the same photograph, but cropped in on him.

Camelback Mountain 4

Camelback Mountain 4

This shot (#4) is similar, but you can tell he has moved up the rock. In this picture, please note the white shirts in the upper left of the frame at the top of the rock outcropping.

Camelback Mountain 5

Camelback Mountain 5

Number 5 is a cropped version of the prior showing him and the trail with people.

Camelback Mountain 6

Camelback Mountain 6

And number 6 is a cropped version of # 4  showing the two white shirts at the top left of the rock face. If you look real close, you can see a path worn in the rock….this is where the person jogging up the rock ended up.

Camelback Mountain 7

Camelback Mountain 7

This is just another shot showing his progress…

Camelback Mountain 8

Camelback Mountain 8

…and the zoomed in version.

Thoughts?

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

Tsu: KirtWallGallery

 

8 thoughts on “Camelback Mountain Hike – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

  1. Lucy

    Beautiful shots, Kirt! What a gorgeous place. Looking forward to summer, so I can go on a few hiking trips myself. 🙂 Have a lovely day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

