Griffith Park Observatory in Black and White

The shots I am attaching today actually tie into two prior blog posts. Last weeks post titled Phoenix Trotting Park is a result of the work I did on todays post and todays post is a result of a photo shoot I shared last October titled: Architectural Elements. So let me back up to the October post. That post was about a series of shots I took of the Griffith Park Observatory last fall that focused on the architectural element of the observatory. I love the details of this art deco building.

The observatory came up again in a conversation I had with someone in Los Angeles towards the end of last year. They were looking for some black and white prints for one of their rooms and specifically wanted shots of the observatory. They also love the art deco look of the building and thought shots in black and white would give it a retro look. That’s all it took for me to get rolling. I played with a number of the shots and came up with the technique I described last week on the racetrack photo shoot. Those shots were a result of me finalizing the technique on the observatory photographs.

I have attached the six art prints that resulted from that conversation. The client ended up buying three of them from a private gallery I set up for them. I wanted to share them, as they aren’t available yet to the public.

Observatory BW 1

Observatory BW 1

Observatory BW 2

Observatory BW 2

Observatory BW 3

Observatory BW 3

Observatory BW 4

Observatory BW 4

Observatory BW 5

Observatory BW 5

Observatory BW 6

Observatory BW 6

I’d be curious which one is your favorite and what your thoughts are around this black and white look with this type of building.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

Tsu: KirtWallGallery

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Griffith Park Observatory in Black and White

    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      That particular print looks incredible in a large 24X36 size! That one the client chose as the focal point to the room they were working on! Its my favorite! Thanks Sue!

      Reply
  1. www.ginabriganti.com

    The first is definitely my favorite. The perspective of what looking at the view from the top, and also from the side, brings so much great perspective. The last four give an other-wordly feel that I enjoy, too.

    Reply
  2. trotter387

    There is a sense of strength in the images, solid and real.

    If I were to use one as tonal inspiration for a pencil drawing it would be image five because the contrast is clean and the lines make the eye work hard.

    I rarely find photography that captures strength often more focused on the disappearing image but I had the sense that I could go there and see the same thing when I looked – that is a powerful image.

    Reply
  3. Jet Eliot

    Fantastic photos, Kirt…I especially like the first one: the stunning architecture with downtown in the background and the LA sprawl in between. Really lovely photo. 🙂

    Reply
  4. theempathyqueen

    I really like this series in Black and White. You can see the intricacies of the architecture and the expansion of the city (without the pollution).

    Also, the Black and White evokes Hollywood, for me and since this building has a long and iconic histroy with wonderful films, so it brings out the poignancy. JMHO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

