Lost on a Hike – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

I routinely go through older photo shoots to see if I have missed something or overlooked some shots. I know myself only too well and will completely miss certain ones if I find another series in that shoot I immediately like. Then, I am inevitably off to the next photo shoot for new material. Todays blog is about those shots lost to a series of other ones in a particular shoot. I went back to a shoot I did in the fall of 2013 at the top of Cougar Mountain in Issaquah, Washington. The significance of this shoot for those of you that have been following me, is a series of moss covered stairs that I shared as a post in November of 2013. I found them so interesting that they were about the only thing I used from this shoot.

In reviewing all of the photos I took that day, I pulled a couple of them that I wanted to share. The hike for the shoot was on a trail that started down by Lake Sammamish and rose over 1000 feet in elevation to the top of Cougar Mountain. This site use to house an anti-aircraft installation to protect the Puget Sound area. It became decommissioned long ago and turned over to the county to incorporate into their park system. The stairs that became a blog item were part of the remnants from that installation.

The shots that got lost on a hike…they start with what I think is a great capture of sunlight on green moss covered trees.

Sunlit Moss Trees

Sunlit Moss Trees

I love the way the sunlight hits the moss and brings the green to life. I guess I was too busy looking at stairs to realize I had captured it on the trees also:)

The next two shots are looking out over Lake Sammamish from the top. The scenery is beautiful and again the moss covered stair tunnel vision kicked in.

Lake Sammamish 1

Lake Sammamish 1

Lake Sammamish 2

Lake Sammamish 2

The last two shots are of a pavilion where barracks use to be.

Pavillion 1

Pavilion 1

The contrasting element of the straight lines against the trees and grass made me wonder what it would look like in black and white. Believe it or not, I was actually thinking this when I took the photo and over a year later and I finally did just that.

Pavillion 2

Pavilion 2

As you can see there isn’t a direct pattern to these pictures other than they were taken on the same hike in the same general area of each other. As I said earlier, I know myself only too well and the lesson to be learned is always go back through old shoots to make sure you really have everything from them that you like. Thoughts?

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

Tsu: KirtWallGallery

17 thoughts on “Lost on a Hike – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

  1. lorriebowden

    I’m so happy you went back Kirt! I love the moss trees…the light and texture is beautiful. The lake photos also strike me…the color is so beautiful. Nice work! Happy New Year!

    Reply
  2. Sue Slaght

    Kirt it was at the time of the moss post that I began following you. It really stuck in my mind and still did because I felt as though I could reach out and feel the softness. Hard to believe more than a year has passed since then.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      So I know you will appreciate this…I redid that hike in Sept with my daughter and her boyfriend when we were up there..both of them wanted to see the moss covered stairs. For whatever reason that crossed my mind today and I went back to the original shoot…gotta say…the moss covered trees are as cool!!😃

      Reply
  3. constancecarlsen1

    You are so lucky to be able to get out in the world, my photography is on hold until after january since my nephew broke my camera. So until i can come up with cash i will live through ur photography. Thanks🎨📷

    Reply

Leave a Reply

