West Point Lighthouse – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot

As I promised last week, I would be sharing some more lighthouses from the photo shoot I did around Puget Sound in September. This week, I wanted to share the West Point Lighthouse, which is also known as the Discovery Park Lighthouse.

This lighthouse was opened in 1881 and sits on a point of land that juts into the Puget Sound and marks the northern extent of Elliot Bay. Elliot Bay is the immediate waterfront that Seattle was founded on. It actually was the first manned lighthouse on Puget Sound. Access is via Discovery Park, which has restricted parking, and it is a little bit of a hike to get up to the lighthouse. Once there, you are able to walk around the grounds and get shots from a number of angles. My goal on a shoot like this is to capture the structure from as many different aspects as I can physically get. I got a number of shots and have posted what I think are the best five, each from a slightly different perspective.

West Point Lighthouse 1

West Point Lighthouse 1

The first shot is from the trail as you come up to the property. I like the composition of this shot as it portrays the isolation of the lighthouse with the added element of a large cargo ship on Puget Sound in the background.

 

West Point Lighthouse 2

West Point Lighthouse 2

This next shot is a little closer to the lighthouse and is framed to focus on just the structure while still keeping enough of the surrounding landscape to complete the scene.

 

West Point Lighthouse 3

West Point Lighthouse 3

The third shot is focused solely on the architecture of the lighthouse with just a hint of the landscape surrounding the building.

West Point Lighthouse 4

West Point Lighthouse 4

The fourth shot is from a slightly different angle and closer to the structure. This perspective created a different element of depth and architectural shape. Having seen the building in the other shots, you know that it is a long structure with the light in the middle. This shot gives you a different perspective, defining more shape and geometry of the building.

West Point Lighthouse 5

The fifth and last shot taken just a few feet from number four, gives you a completely different view of the building. You now see an entry door at the end of the building. From this perspective, the building looks very small, as you really don’t see the length. With this side in the shade, it gives a different look to the many architectural elements of the building.

So, my question to you is: “Which is your favorite shot?” I will be using only two, three at the most to add to my Color Photography Gallery. Thoughts?

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

 

 

28 thoughts on “West Point Lighthouse – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot

  1. Sue Slaght

    Hands down number 1 for me. I love the feeling of being drawn down the path and even before I read the narrative I was thinking what great composition with the cargo ship. Apparently I am learning a thing or two here. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

    Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Perhaps you can let Kirt know which of these four shots of the West Point Lighthouse you prefer. I like 1 because you have more of the sound behind the lighthouse and 4 because it shows the best features of the building. Once visited a converted lighthouse and loved it but it was a very tall one and getting to the lounge at the top required climbing something like 130 stairs…this place would be wonderful to live in – and think of all the lives that have been saved. Great photographs as always Kirt.

    Reply
  3. Let's CUT the Crap!

    I like the long shot of #1 and the closer look of #4. I’ve never seen this shape of lighthouse. The common ones I’ve seen and stayed overnight in once, are more like the center (tower) of the building in the pictures above. I learn something new every day. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks for the feedback, those are the two I seem to be settling on also. I have been amazed at the shapes and sizes of lighthouses up and down the west coast. There are some very unusual ones:) The bulk that I have seen though are like you described. Thanks for stopping by! I enjoy your blog!!

      Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks Jackie….I appreciate the feedback….I’m leaning towards number 1 as the top pick…..I did use number 2 for a black and white print in my Black and White Gallery!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

