Christmas Tree in the Forest – Featured Art Print

I just added a line of Christmas Cards to my Note Card Gallery and wanted to feature one of the prints from those cards. My feature today is titled: “Christmas Tree in the Forest”.

I started by taking the art print from my Landscape Oil Gallery titled: “Snow Covered Pine” as my basis for this creation. From the original print, I popped the color up just a little and then individually added each light, the star and then the glow around the star. Sounds easy enough, but it was a little more time consuming than I had estimated. I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I re-drew the star until I had it the way I wanted. I really like the final results and feel like the effort was worth it.

Some background on the scene: It was the first part of December 2013 and my wife and I were living in Seattle for the latter half of last year while our house was being built here in the Phoenix area (two of our three were in Seattle at that point and we had sold our home in San Diego). Our apt had just flooded (another story for another day) and we had to vacate it for the duration of our stay. We ended up in a hotel for the holidays waiting for our final move to Arizona. It was a bit crowded with two cats, lots of my equipment, suitcases, etc in a one-bedroom hotel suite. We took the entire event in stride, but were feeling a little down because at least in the apt we had a small tree and it was decorated, etc. We were use to hosting Christmas at our house even after our kids moved out and this year we knew would be different, but not like this.

We woke up one morning to a beautiful snowfall. It doesn’t snow very much in Seattle and we had not lived anywhere that got snow since our days in Denver many…many years ago. It was magical to us…that first snow where the flakes are huge and fall quietly adding that touch of white to everything. I knew I needed to get out in it and start taking pictures. Our hotel was near a small forest, so I packed up and took off. I loved it! I was able to get a number of great shots that day and have started creating final art prints from those photographs. In thinking about what art prints to offer on some Christmas Cards, this one came to mind, but I wanted to decorate the pine tree with lights. Growing up, we always had a fir tree full of Christmas lights outside and when the snow blanketed it…magical. My goal was to recreate what I had seen so many times in my youth via this art print. Thoughts?

I invite you to come into the gallery to view the addition of Christmas Cards to the collection in the Note Card Gallery

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

13 thoughts on “Christmas Tree in the Forest – Featured Art Print

  1. Sue Slaght

    A beautiful shot Kirt. Your narrative also makes me think of how I often negatively look at snow. Perhaps this winter I need to be looking for the magic in the appearance of the white stuff.

    Reply
  2. Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

    Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    I have held off mentioning Christmas until now as I know that many feel that starting to sell gifts in July is far too early… except of course for those who do theirs in the sales in January!! This artwork from Kirt Tisdale was too good to pass up and consider it a teaser… come December we shall be decking the virtual halls with lots of holly….

    Reply
  3. Angie Mc

    Your art, and blog, are lovely, Kirt! Snow is a drive away from me in the Arizona desert so I pine for it at Christmas time. Thank you for visiting my blog and I’ve very glad to connect 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

