Barn in the Valley – Featured Art Print

Last week, I featured two new prints from my Landscape Oil Collection. This week I am going to take a look at two very different prints from my Landscape Watercolor Collection. In this particular collection, I have used a variety of watercolor techniques to create totally different looks to landscape scenes. The first print I wanted to feature is “ Barn in the Valley”. The setting is rural Iowa in wintertime. There isn’t any snow on the ground, just barren trees and brown dormant fields. Even in this type of setting, there is beauty in my opinion. This time of year is a time of rest and regrouping for not only the plant life, but also the farmers that grow the crops. I love the way the barn sits in a small valley surrounded by rolling hills. In this particular print I used a pointillism style for the technique. Pointillism is a style of painting in small distinct dots of color that are applied in a pattern to form an image. The technique was developed in 1886 branching from impressionism. The style creates a very soft look to a scene and the eye combines the dots into a recognizable pattern. In playing with this technique, I find that it either works really well or really poorly and I haven’t seen much in between. I liked it for this scene to keep a soft; warm and casual look to this particular setting. It allows the barn to become center stage without over powering the entire print. Using warm earth tones keeps the scene subtle, yet inviting. Thoughts?

I invite you to come into the gallery to view the collection in Landscape Watercolor.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

9 thoughts on “Barn in the Valley – Featured Art Print

Leave a Reply

