The Unexpected Classic Car – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

I wanted to share two shots I took of a classic car. I say classic, because it sure looks classic. I have no idea what type and year this car is, but it looks great and makes for great photography. The real story of these shots is where they were taken and how I happened to come across the opportunity.

Classic car 1

Classic car 1

A couple of weekends ago, my wife and I took a quick road trip to the northern part of Arizona to get out of the desert heat. One of our stops was an old mining town called Jerome. What makes Jerome unique is the topography in where this town was built. It is literally on the side of a mountain with Main Street looping itself back and forth in switchbacks. Imagine the elevation change between the blocks of buildings. No matter which street you are on, you are looking over the top of the buildings of the street below you. It truly is a photographers dream place, because of all of the interesting historic paraphernalia throughout town from the buildings themselves to old mining cars, etc. We stopped and started exploring. I came across a steep staircase along the side of one of the buildings that led to a deck overlook of the valley floor below. Once I got down to the deck, I saw a door that led into what would have been a basement two stories below the street level with large windows and more viewing areas to the valley below. Imagine my surprise to find a couple of little shops, an artist studio and this classic car in this lower level. I have no idea what the purpose or point was, but loved the look of the car and snapped off a few shots. At the time, I was thinking these will make great black and white prints, so I tried a number of different angles. The two I have attached are my favorite. I did convert them to black and white, but realized that the high gloss and the strong reflective glare from ceiling lights really looked good in the original color shot. Thoughts?

Classic Car 2

Classic Car 2

More unique shots from Jerome coming next week!

 

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

 

 

15 thoughts on “The Unexpected Classic Car – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks Lorrie! It is an interesting drive coming into Jerome from the Prescott side. Our middle daughter put us on to it…the production company she works for was looking at doing a reality based show about Jerome. Interesting stories:)

      Reply
  1. Pingback: The Unexpected Vacant Building – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot | thewallgalleryblog

  2. Pingback: Red Rocks in Abundance – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot | thewallgalleryblog

  3. Pingback: The Mining Cart – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot | thewallgalleryblog

  4. Pingback: This Blog Is Worth Your Attention: TheWallGalleryBlog #art #photography | DJ Nova Jade*s Hodgepodge Blog

  5. Pingback: This Blog Is Worth Your Attention: TheWallGalleryBlog #art #photography | Blog

Leave a Reply

