Palm Trees – Featured Art Print

With summer ending and fall just around the corner, I think it’s time to hit the tropics. The art print I wanted to feature today is from my Tropical Collection. It’s titled “Thick Palm Trees”. The style I used on this print is a gothic oil technique that emphasizes bold brush strokes and earth tone colors. The bold brush strokes create texture and dimension to the print. The earth tones create an old world look as well as a vintage feel. I think of this style more in terms of an old world traditional style, but when I use it with tropical themes it makes me think of a vintage Hawaiian look that I have seen. The palm trees are not Hawaiian, but Arizona based near where I live. This grove reminded me of a similar grove of palm trees on the Big Island of Hawaii where native Hawaiians had a village. The grove provides a great canopy for protection from the sun, but with very little undergrowth allowing ease of movement. Using the grove close to me, I tried to recreate the look and feel that I saw on the Big Island. I always try to create a sense of depth so your “minds eye” can picture yourself in the scene, walking into the grove and feeling the cool ocean breeze. The magic of art to create this type of illusion, but truly if I hadn’t told you the subject matter was in the desert, does it not take you to one of your favorite tropical locations? That place where time slows down and life seems more simplified? Thoughts?

I invite you to come into the gallery to view the collection in Tropical.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

8 thoughts on “Palm Trees – Featured Art Print

Leave a Reply

