San Diego Skyline – Featured Art Print

San Diego Skyline

San Diego Skyline

The art print I wanted to feature today is from my Cityscapes Collection titled “San Diego Skyline”.  The print is of the San Diego skyline from across San Diego Bay. Using the same style I displayed in last weeks feature, a fauvism oil technique, creates this abstract and brightly colored rendition of the downtown San Diego skyline.

San Diego is a very beautiful city, not only due to the natural topography it occupies, but the city itself. I know I am biased, having lived there for 24 years, but it does occupy a beautiful stretch of coastline from the beaches lining the north county, down through Mission Bay (SeaWorld) and San Diego Bay. I love to go across to Coronado Island and look back towards the downtown skyline. With San Diego Bay as the anchor, you see the buildings making up the skyline, the convention center, hotels and condos dotting the sky. This particular art print is from the ferry landing on Coronado Island looking back across the bay. I love using this style with this subject matter as it adds an element of fun and vibrancy to a setting that features a lot of straight lines and linear features. Adding the dock for the ferry landing in the foreground with people adds an element of interest to the scene and creates more depth to the overall print.

I usually look at this style of art and think modern and contemporary. Yet, this style is traditional and old. Not being an interior designer, I’m clearly not the expert, but I do know what I like and how it looks. I have come to realize that the manner in which an art print is matted and framed can make a world of difference in the final presentation. Will this art print be a focal point for your wall and room or will this be a compliment to the overall look. Determining this factor will also help you decide on a print and the manner in which you matte and frame it. Thoughts?

I invite you to come into the gallery to view the collection in Cityscapes.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

7 thoughts on “San Diego Skyline – Featured Art Print

  1. Sue Slaght

    San Diego is definitely one of my favorite spots. I agree completely about the framing making such a difference. What would your pick of frame be for this one Kirt?

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      I would frame it in a wide black frame with off white matting. This is just me, but I am partial to that type of framing as it generally works with almost any decor. The simple clean lines compliment a modern decor and going black allows the colors of the print to carry the look.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

