The Village Shops – Featured Art Print

The art print I wanted to feature today is from my Street Scenes/People Collection titled “Village Shops”.  The print is of a New England village street with shops lining the sidewalk. I used a fauvism oil technique to create this abstract and brightly colored rendition of this typical New England setting.

I love the look of old New England villages with their streets lined with shops and cafes. The roads are narrow and the architecture quaint and inviting. Since I am always trying to capture a moment that will speak to a viewer, I like the aspect of this setting. We have just enough street and buildings to create the overall scene. The other elements to finish the look are the trees, lampposts and of course, people. I love the bright colors and abstract painting as it creates an upbeat feel to the print and doesn’t get lost in the detail, but has enough that the look makes sense.

I usually look at this style of art and think modern and contemporary. Yet, this style is traditional and old. Not being an interior designer, I’m clearly not the expert, but I do know what I like and how it looks. I have come to realize that the manner in which an art print is matted and framed can make a world of difference in the final presentation. Will this art print be a focal point for your wall and room or will this be a compliment to the overall look. Determining this factor will also help you decide on a print and the manner in which you matte and frame it. Thoughts?

I invite you to come into the gallery to view the collection of Street Scenes/People.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

12 thoughts on “The Village Shops – Featured Art Print

  1. Elaine

    Love this! I am a New England native, though not located there anymore. This print definitely reminds me of the small towns or villages in parts of New England that I love so much! Thanks for the like on my blog and for leading me to your blog which I am now following. Beautiful work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

