New Orleans Cafe Old World – Featured Art Print

The art print I wanted to feature today is from my Street Scenes/People Collection titled “New Orleans Café Old World”.  The print is of an outdoor café on a second story open-air balcony overlooking a street in the French Quarter of New Orleans. I featured a black and white sketching of this same scene a few weeks ago, as it is one of my favorites. In this rendition, I took the scene and used a gothic oil technique with earth tone colors creating a warm old world style.

Typical in the French Quarter are outdoor cafes utilizing the second floor balconies, which are a prominent part of the architecture. In my work, I try to capture a moment that speaks to an observer long after the fact. This scene does that. You can see the waiter prepping a table and diners involved in their lunchtime conversations. On the street below you get a glimpse of some of the foot traffic of people meandering around the French Quarter.

I usually look at this style of art and think it is best suited for a traditional interior design with the earth tones and old world feel. It has been one of my most popular prints and I have been fortunate enough to see it framed and displayed in a variety of interior designs. The element that has made the difference is the way it is matted and framed. I have seen it matted using basic white and then framed in black hanging in a living room that you would consider a very modern style. I have also seen it matted in an earth tone with ornate framing in a very traditional interior design. I think the style is abstract enough that it can work in a variety of designs. Thoughts?

I invite you to come into the gallery to view the collection of Street Scenes/People.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

10 thoughts on “New Orleans Cafe Old World – Featured Art Print

Leave a Reply

