Victorian Hallway – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot

The excerpts from a photo shoot I want to share today are of a hallway in the Fairmont Empress Hotel in Victoria, British Columbia. The shot was taken a few years back on an excursion to that beautiful city. We stayed at the hotel and enjoyed the Victorian elegance and tradition it is known for. You might ask me what why I took a shot of a hallway and that would be a legitimate question. It’s the visual depth the architecture of the hallway has. I actually took a number of shots; vertical, horizontal, zoomed in, normal, etc. All of that said, I haven’t done anything with the shots until now. I came across them recently and find them intriguing, so I thought I would use this one in particular to demonstrate an example on how you can take one photograph and create a variety of looks of the same subject.

Original

Original

The first shot is the original. I didn’t use a flash and depended on natural lighting. It isn’t the most technically correct shot, but it does have an interesting element to it (and yes the hallway really is that wide and that long). The natural lighting creates a shot with strong golden hues. The color works with the style as it lends to a warm comfortable feel.

Sepia

Sepia

The second shot is with a sepia tone. The sepia tone element is easy to do and lends itself well to the age of the Victorian hallway. Using this tone plays on the history of the Victorian Era. The sepia format was the look of photography in that era.

Black and White

Black and White

The third shot is in black and white. The black and white aspect doesn’t play to the style of the hallway and the era it depicts, but to the architectural elements of the hallway. The strong lines and contrast work very well when you take a color photo to the world of black and white. Notice how it presents a totally different look to this shot.

Fresco Watercolor

Fresco Watercolor

With the fourth shot, I went a few steps further. As I have stated, I haven’t done anything with these shots, but there is an element to them that appeals to me. Trying to figure out how to pull that out in the best manner to tell a story is the fun part of what I do. A lot of it is trial and error with most of it being archived or deleted. With this last print I used a fresco watercolor technique highlighting the architectural lines and the warm golden tones.

From one photograph, we now have four different looks to the same hallway. Two of the three changes were easy with the fresco watercolor a little more challenging. Thoughts?

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

Instagram: Kirttisdale

 

20 thoughts on “Victorian Hallway – Excerpts From a Photo Shoot

    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Still laughing about the Passion Play:)

      Technical issue with photograph: The framing isn’t symmetrical and the lighting is not correct. For this type of shot with the depth element of the arches, it should be centered better. On the lighting: I should have chosen a faster shutter speed and opened my aperture up slightly to capture the light as it really was. The hallway wasn’t lit in a “glow” of golden light. Artistically anything goes, but technically that was what I was referring to. Thanks!

      Reply
      1. Sue Slaght

        Glad you are still chuckling. Dave was amused reading all the comments. I told him it just showed the whole incident had been a great success.

        Thanks for the details. That does make sense for sure. not that I am at the level to be thinking about shutter speed but the framing i definitely get. 🙂

Leave a Reply

