The Beauty of a Hot Air Balloon – Featured Art print

 

 

The art print I wanted to feature today is from my Hot Air Balloon Collection titled “The Beauty of a Hot Air Balloon”.  The print is a close up of a hot air balloon lifting above the gondola just as it becomes inflated. It is done in a gothic oil technique that uses earthen tones and bold brush strokes creating an old world look.

The setting is a launching site for sunset hot air balloon rides in San Diego. With the pattern of the winds along the pacific coast in San Diego County, hot air balloon rides there are done at sunset. In the early morning hours, the air is typically still until the sun heats up the coastal land. With that hot air rising, the cool oceans breezes come in to replace the rising hot air, creating afternoon coastal breezes. This pattern stops when the sun sets over the Pacific Ocean. In the hour or so before sunset, it is typical to see many hot air balloons in the sky taking flight close to the coast and then drifting inland until the sunsets allowing them to make their descent back to earth as the breezes die down.

The entire gallery is based on the launch and early flights of these sunset hot air balloon rides. The shape and color of hot air balloons lend themselves to beautiful art prints from rolling the balloon envelopes out for inflation, to the inflation process itself and then finally lift-off.

This particular print is one of my personal favorites as I have it framed and hanging in my own home. Thoughts?

I invite you to come into the gallery to view the new additions to the collection in Hot Air Balloons.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

 

12 thoughts on “The Beauty of a Hot Air Balloon – Featured Art print

  1. Sue Slaght

    This one leaps off the screen Kirt. It took a moment for the image to load on my iPad so as I read I expected to see something different. When the photo arrived on screen I actually sat back with the rich color and most interesting capture.

    Reply
  2. Photos close to home

    This is a great shot. You showed us something that few would notice and called our attention to it. Gerry Badger says that’s one of the “simple yet profound pleasures” of being a photographer.

    Reply
  3. S.C. Hickman

    Astounding, Kirt… I remember twenty years back when working in Jackson Hole, Wyoming area we had friends who owned a ballooning business and just before season taking these colorful craft along the outer areas of the Tetons. The light of the mornings shining on them was so hyperreal and yet soft and valent like your combination of impressionism and realist tones … what can I say: loved it… makes me want to pick of a paint brush myself and scribble some strokes… 🙂 wish I could paint such things… it’s so fun!

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      I think they are beautiful and I was always inspired whenever I saw them in the skies along the coast. I finally took my wife up on one for an anniversary. That event was the basis of these creations. Loved it!! Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the feedback!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

