New Orleans Victorian House – Featured Art Print

I love this scene of an old Victorian home located in New Orleans. This print was done many years ago long before Katrina hit the city. I was there on business and had some time to kill before I had to leave for the airport. Some co-workers and myself just wondered around the tree-lined streets. I came across this old Victorian house and fell in love with the look. Using that picture as my inspiration with a sketching technique, I did this print. I love black and white for the purpose of telling a story without color. Successfully doing that creates an art print that should emote a mood or tone that highlights the subject matter. In this case, I took the original shot and looked at it as a black and white photograph. That still looked a little flat to me with the detail of this architecture. Creating the sketch changed the dynamic. The sketch brings sharp lines and intricate detail to life. I loved the depth and intricacy it brought to this subject matter. Thoughts?

I invite you to come into the gallery to view the new additions to the collection in Black and White Sketches.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

10 thoughts on “New Orleans Victorian House – Featured Art Print

  1. Sue Slaght

    We visited New Orleans pre Katrina as well. Loved these old houses. Really like this one in black and white. Adds to the feel of the history I think without the color.

    Reply
  2. lorriebowden

    Love the texture Kirt. There’s something about black & white that intrigues me…the sketching technique really enhanced it…yes? Blessings to you Kirt ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

