Simplicity in Nature – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

One of the things I am always on the lookout for is simplicity in a potential photograph to focus in on. If I’m doing a photo shoot on a hike, it’s that moment of sunlight coming through the forest canopy framing a plant or log. It can be that simple touch of color in the undergrowth or the unique plant popping through the forest growth. I call that simplicity in nature. As I have mentioned, for me it can take a number of shots to get just the right one. I’ve attached a series of shots I took on a particular hike. I saw something that pulled all of the simplistic elements together for me…sunlight through the forest canopy shining on new growth sprouting from a moss-covered branch. From the attached 6 shots, I pulled one that I added to my galleries completely untouched…no cropping or color adjustments needed. Which one would you have picked and I will tell you which one made it to a final art print and why.

Simplicity 1

Simplicity 1

Simplicity 2

Simplicity 2

Simplicity 3

Simplicity 3

Simplicity 4

Simplicity 4

Simplicity 5

Simplicity 5

Simplicity 6

Simplicity 6

I chose number 6 as the final art print and here’s why. I like the two branches of new growth versus the one as in 1-3. Looking at 4-6, the focus on the two foreground plants was perfect in 5 & 6. Narrowing it down to these two, I preferred the background growth being centered in number 6…blurred as intended, but centered. It creates a visual balance between the foreground and background. Thoughts?

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

11 thoughts on “Simplicity in Nature – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

  1. Sue Slaght

    I appreciate the learning I get from reading your posts Kirt. At first glance they all looked very similar. With your explanation number 6 is obviously the top pick.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

