Hay Loft Door – Featured Art Print

I wanted to feature one more art print from my Abstract Watercolor Gallery. This one is titled “Barn Door”. Technically it is a hay loft door, but let’s work with barn door for short. In abstract art prints, I look for either shapes and colors or pieces of architectural elements to create a look that appeals to me. In doing a shoot at the living history farm, Pickering Farm in Issaquah, Washington last year, I fell in love with the barn. I like barns for whatever reason and this one was no exception. I think it’s the architecture of barns and they all seem to tell a story. I have used the full barn to create prints, but for abstract work, I wanted to focus in on a specific architectural element. I chose the hay loft door which is top right on the attached shot of the barn.

Pickering Barn

Pickering Barn

Using the strong lines of the roof and door, I create the watercolor that I am featuring. I kept the point of view from the ground to emphasize height. The color palette I used expanded on the red barn using red, orange, purple and blue. The look is soft, unique and abstract.

Thoughts?

 

I invite you to come into the gallery to view the new additions to the collection in the Abstract Watercolor Gallery.

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

 

8 thoughts on “Hay Loft Door – Featured Art Print

  1. sueslaght

    I like the purple hue coming off the top, as though the heat reflecting off. Of it in the sunshine. I appreciate your creativity in having the vision of this from the original.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

