Wind Turbines – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

Two weeks ago, I had to make a quick trip from where I live in the Phoenix area to Los Angeles. It’s only a 5.5 hr drive and straight down Interstate 10 all the way. Being a former Californian, we refer to that as The 10 or The 10 Freeway. The 10 skirts Palm Springs and on the western edge of the valley it is lined with wind turbines. Having been to the Palm Springs area many times, it dawned on me that the wind turbines would make a great photo shoot and I always travel with my camera as one never knows when it will come in handy. From that excursion, I have attached nine shots in groups of three. The first shot being the original, the second shot cropped and adjusted and the third shot done in black and white. I might add that I was shooting into 35 MPH winds that made it a little challenging to get clear shots even with a tripod. Let me know what you think….

 

Wind Turbine 1 Original

Wind Turbine 1 Original

Wind Turbine 1: Cropped

Wind Turbine 1: Cropped

Wind Turbine 1: Black and White

Wind Turbine 1: Black and White

Wind Turbine 2: original

Wind Turbine 2: Original

Wind Turbine 2: Cropped

Wind Turbine 2: Cropped

Wind Turbine: Black and White

Wind Turbine 2: Black and White

Wind Turbine 3: Original

Wind Turbine 3: Original

Wind Turbine 3: Cropped

Wind Turbine 3: Cropped

Wind Turbine 3: Black and White

Wind Turbine 3: Black and White

 

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

 

19 thoughts on “Wind Turbines – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      Thanks Laura….for years I have always thought the same thing and then this trip I decided to stop and shoot…of course I picked a day with high winds, which you can’t see in the pictures, but I had to really stand my ground to keep from getting blown away!!:)

      Reply
      1. lauramacky

        Glad you weren’t blown away! Ours here are on ground higher than I could get to so that’s what’s stopped me but you never know what I could get. Some day you’ll see them on my blog.

      1. sueslaght

        I guess with all those wind turbines one could expect a bit of a breeze 🙂 I don’t like the feel though when one’s camera is trying to take it’s own flight path without the photographer!

  1. elainecanham

    I like wind turbine 2, black and white. It has a kind of nobility about it. Funny how they get everywhere, I can see 2 wt’s from my window.they’re useful things, but they don’t suit the countryside.

    Reply
  2. JF

    This source of energy might be very dangerous. Turbines kill hundreds of thousands birds and bats. Nobody bothered to study the negative impact it can have.

    Reply
      1. JF

        I read an article that they kill tremendous amount of birds.
        And I remember that when Chinese killed sparrows 20 millions died from famine and many more from diseases.

  3. Jan

    Great photos 🙂 It is an amazing place with that unbelievable number of wind turbines. Sadly I didn’t stop there, when we drove from Phoenix to LA in 2011.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Wind Turbines Revisited – Featured Art Prints | thewallgalleryblog

Leave a Reply

