The Sun in the Trees – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

I’m attaching some shots I took a couple of weeks ago when I was out on a photo shoot. That particular outing was a 2 hour hike into the desert for saguaro cactus blooms. I was able to get some shots, but had more fun as I was about two blocks away from our house on the way back. Coming into our neighborhood is a common area that is planted with desert trees, shrubs and plants. The trees were in full spring bloom with yellow flowers and as I was walking on the sidewalk under them, I looked up and caught the sun shining thru the leaves and thought…”how cool”. Having grown up shooting film, I still hesitate taking sunlight shots with digital as not something you do readily with film. With all of this going through my head and wanting to take some shots to play with, let’s just say I decided the best angle would be laying on the sidewalk on my back. Simple enough with no one around to wonder what the heck you are doing….wrong….let’s just say a morning “power walker” came around the corner on that same sidewalk. Imagine her surprise to find a 60 yr man with camera and back pack stretched out blocking her route. Unfortunately for her, it took me a few minutes to realize I was being watched. Feeling like an idiot and being the smart ass I am, I said…”This must look really weird.” Her reply was a “Yes, but the good news for you is I appreciate good photography and get what you’re doing!”

Sun in Trees One

Sun in Trees One

Sun in Trees Two

Sun in Trees Two

The last one… I played with the contrast and darkened the shot for comparison sakes. Not sure what if anything I will do with the shots, but wanted to share them and the story. Thoughts?

Sun in Trees Three

Sun in Trees Three

 

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery (All domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping!)

Follow my work:

Facebook: TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Google+: TheWallGallery

Twitter: KirtWallGallery

 

8 thoughts on “The Sun in the Trees – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot

  1. kcg1974

    I love the desert, having lived near Phoenix for five years. A ‘different’ beauty then the Midwest. Tranquil and quiet. It almost speaks to you there….

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Depth in the Arch – Excerpts from a Photo Shoot | thewallgalleryblog

Leave a Reply

