Sepia Photography with a Splash of Red

As I mentioned in a prior post, I do a fair amount of custom work for clients. This past week I had another client request something in my Sepia Gallery. She was doing a room over and had this idea with some of my sepia photography. She told me which four prints she was interested in and that she wanted a splash of red in each of them. She picked out the objects she wanted painted and then with some proof reviews and discussions decided on the level of red. I was surprised at the  final result and even more surprised to find out that the room decor was for a bedroom with very modern soft simple lines and color.  When I think of sepia, I think rustic or vintage, but not modern. Apparently it worked as she sent me some photos of a couple of the pictures framed and said it pulled the room together just as she envisioned. So, lesson for the day…I’m not an interior designer, just a photographer and artist.  I have posted two of the four prints below from the originals, to splash of red results, to photo of them framed…..

Original Sepia Photograph

Original Sepia Photograph

If you look real close between this one and the next, she also had me remove the cat under the chair.

Sepia With a Splash of Red

Sepia With a Splash of Red

Then the final product framed….

Framed and Hung

Framed and Hung

The second one….

Original Sepia Photograph

Original Sepia Photograph

Then the frame of the window takes on the red….

Sepia With a Splash of Red

Sepia With a Splash of Red

The final product framed…

Final Print Framed and Hung

Framed and Hung

Interesting how just a little color creates a different look.

Source: Sepia Gallery

Please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery  (Domestic orders over $60.00 – free shipping)

Follow my work on my Facebook page – TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!)

Also follow me at TheWallGallery – Google+

10 thoughts on “Sepia Photography with a Splash of Red

  1. greyzoned/angelsbark

    I love sepia tones and the addition of just a wee bit of color makes it a stunning piece. both of them! Really nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

