The Gothic Rose

One of the newest art prints that I have added to my Foral/Still Life Gallery is a rose done in a gothic oil style painting. I was actually surprised at the final result. I like the gothic oil style for the earth tone colors and the strong brush strokes. This style of art works in numerous decors. All of that said, I was curious on how a rose would look. We typically use this colorful flower in either photographs or watercolors to keep the vibrancy of the colors forefront. So, let’s look at the original picture. Onto itself, the original photograph is a beautiful capture of a red rose. Absolutely nothing wrong with it. (To give credit where credit is due, the rose is not home grown….I took the picture at a public garden in Portland, Oregon.)

So, from that to this. It creates a totally different look, a classic and simple elegance in deep earthen tones.

Thoughts? Comments?

The Red Rose photograph came from my Color Photography Gallery and the Gothic Rose art print came from my Floral/Still Life Gallery.   Follow my work on my Facebook page – TheWallGallery by Kirt Tisdale. (Page likes are always appreciated!) Thanks!

Leave a Reply

