Lighthouses

A few years back, my wife and I did a road trip on the Pacific Coast Highway from northern California through Oregon into Washington just to see the lighthouses along this stretch of scenic coastline.  The scenery was breathtaking unto itself. The lighthouses were fascinating and allowed me the opportunity to create some interesting art prints for my art website, TheWallGallery. As a photographer and artist, I love the opportunity to try and capture the essence of subjects. Sometimes it comes through in a color photograph, sometimes a black and white photograph or it takes on a life in a watercolor or oil painting. I just added some new art prints to my Lighthouse Gallery and I have attached 4 of them here. The updates were done in a sketching and watercolor technique. It adds a different dimension to the oil and watercolor prints I had already done. Take a look and let me know what you think.

I call this an estate, because the picture shows you both the lighthouse and the care takers home (and the distance between the two). The lighthouse is the Heceda Head Lighthouse.

This is the Umpqua River Lighthouse. This lighthouse replaced the original lighthouse on a higher location. It opened in 1894.

This is the Coquille River Lighthouse. Construction began in 1891, but didn’t light up until 1896. It was abandoned in 1939 by an automated beacon, but was reclaimed in 1976 by the Army Corps and Oregon State Parks.

Proud and True

Proud and True                                                                                           

This is the Cape Blanco Lighthouse. The lighthouse sits on a 200 foot cliff above the Pacific Ocean. It lit it’s lamp for the first time on December 20, 1870.

For the rest of the art prints visit my Lighthouse Gallery and for all of my original artwork, please visit TheWallGallery.  You can also follow my work on TheWallGallery Facebook Page. Likes are always appreciated!

2 thoughts on “Lighthouses

Leave a Reply

