A Purple Orchid

Our neighbor has a gift of getting her orchid plants to bloom, bloom, bloom!!! I have never seen anything like it! She currently has a plant in her kitchen window that is overflowing with blooms. The other night we were over playing cards and I kept staring at this plant…it screamed to have it’s picture taken…..

I scheduled some time to come over and took a number of pictures of the plant…using a light box…also natural lighting and from a variety of angles. From this photo shoot, I have taken one of the shots for an example here on how one picture can take on many different looks depending on the final media used.

This first picture is the original shot…nothing adjusted or changed. The picture really isn’t one of the better ones, but I am using it because the paintings I did from it are actually some of the better final products.

Orchid

Orchid

So, we have established that we are working with a purple orchid…quite beautiful and I think you get the feel that this is one of a couple of branches and they are all quite full. So, why would I take a stunning purple orchid and turn it into a Black and White photo? As I have said before….black and white only works if the subject matter has distinct shape and composition, which this plant does.

Ok, so this leads to an interesting black and white, but again…let’s go back to the purple orchid….next I did an abstract type drawing and filled it in with watercolor….I even got away from the purple because I liked a little more red in this rendition….

Totally different look! This has an abstract bold look…the strong black drawing creates the shapes and suggestions of the blooms and as I stated, I took the liberty to change the coloring to match what “I” saw in this painting.

Ok…so back to the purple. I also did a more detailed drawing and again used a watercolor fill to capture all of the details of the flower…

So this version has all of the detail and I went back to the original color. Both of these watercolors use an abstract approach, but one being much more minimalistic than the other.

Another style I like is an oil using strong bold brush strokes. So I did the same picture in this style and got an entirely different look…

The look stays abstract, but in a more bold highly textured style. Again for this painting I stayed with the purple as I felt it was the best color for this style.

You can see how different the looks are from each other. Each one lends itself to entirely different decors.

I would love to get feedback on which one is your personal preference and why. As is always the case in interpreting art….there is no right or wrong answer as different looks motivate different responses in all of us. To see more of my work, please visit my main gallery: TheWallGallery.com

Thanks for letting me share!

2 thoughts on “A Purple Orchid

Leave a Reply

