Let Your Light Shine

We’ve been tasked with “Letting our Light Shine” in all that we do and are. To not hide that light, but to let it shine for all. In times of crisis we see that as strangers help strangers, from natural catastrophes to man made tragedies like Boston this week. We see it so often on the news when tragedy strikes, neighbors pitch in to help neighbor, strangers give what they have to those in need. People rush in to help. In our everyday lives, we see it with family and friends. The stranger you gave directions to, the smile and “good morning” an acquaintance gives you. Your children ask for guidance or an elderly neighbor needs help. There are many things where our light shines tall and proud. I’m personally challenged to make sure the light bulb is lit at all times.  Did I let a bad day keep me from seeing the need of another individual, am I so wrapped up in myself? Shame on me…I know better and I believe faithfully that his love for me should shine through always. Ultimately we are human and not perfect, but it’s refreshing to see when push comes to shove that light shines like the sun.

As an artist, I look for beauty to create my pictures. As a visual thinker, I see so many things in simple scenes. The lighthouse to me represents a number of things, a guardian, a protector and a lonely existence to protect the innocent. I also see the symbolism of Matthew 14-16, “You are the light that gives light to the world. A city that is built on a hill cannot be hidden. And people don’t hide a light under a bowl. They put it on a lamp-stand so the light shines for all the people in the house. In the same way, you should be a light for other people. Live so that they will see the good things you do and will praise your Father in Heaven. ” (Bible: New Century Version)

Let Your Light Shine. A watercolor by Kirt Tisdale found in the Lighthouse Section of his Art Gallery.

Let Your Light Shine. A watercolor by Kirt Tisdale found in the Lighthouse Section of his Art Gallery.

Leave a Reply

