Barns in Gothic Oil

While I am starting to work on my “covered bridges shoot“, I thought I would share some updates I just uploaded to my gallery from my “barn shoot“.  I have 5 prints that I did in a gothic oil style painting. Again, this photo shoot was done in mid-February around the Amana Colonies in Iowa. Using a gothic oil style technique creates an old world style in presentation and coloring. Of all of the photos I shot that day, I thought that only these worked in that venue. Logic was telling me that “old barns”…”old world look”…perfect fit, but in actuality not the case. Most of the scenes just didn’t look right and were better suited for watercolors. With all of that said, here are the five that I thought the subject matter presentation was heightened in gothic oil style painting.

The Farm

The Farm

Old Hay Cart

Old Hay Cart

Abandoned Wagon Wheel

Abandoned Wagon Wheel

Winter Woods

The Barn

The Barn

Thoughts, opinions and feedback are always welcome. These prints can be found on my main website in the Landscape Oil Gallery 1. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

