Covered Bridges Oregon Style

 

I would like to think I had some semblance of knowledge, but frankly I have found myself totally ignorant of the fact that Oregon has more covered bridges than any other western state and has one of the largest collections in the nation. My wife and  I live in San Diego and have a daughter that lives in Seattle. On a spur of the moment thing, we decided to drive up to surprise her for her birthday. Looking for a photo shoot opportunity mixed in with the trip, my wife suggested I look at covered bridges in Oregon. I really thought she was pushing the envelope a bit, but what the heck….humor her. Ok, so strike one for the me and a home run for her….I truly had no idea. No offense Oregon, but my  exposure to your state has been flying over numerous times and driving through it a couple of times. We have spent time in Portland, but have not spent much time elsewhere. It is a beautiful state and that I have never questioned.

With limited time, we stuck to covered bridges along Interstate 5 (main north and south interstate from Mexican border on our end to Canadian border on Washington end). Most of the shoot occurred around Cottage Grove, Myrtle Creek and just north of Grant’s Pass. I’m sharing a few of them as I photographed them. The final pictures that I will end up posting in my gallery will be done in watercolors, oils and maybe sepia….not sure yet…I always wait to see final results to see what presents best…I hope you enjoy!

White Covered Bridge north of Grants Pass, Oregon

White Covered Bridge north of Grants Pass, Oregon

Dorena Covered Bridge

Dorena Covered Bridge

Dorena Covered Bridge Interior

Dorena Covered Bridge Interior

Near Cottage Grove

Near Cottage Grove

Red Covered Bridge

Red Covered Bridge

Stewart Covered Bridge

Stewart Covered Bridge

As always, I hope you enjoy! Check out my gallery Thewallgallery.com and follow us on Facebook….likes are always appreciated!

8 thoughts on “Covered Bridges Oregon Style

  1. Anneliese Tisdale

    Love your covered bridges. Can’t wait to see the end results. The next time you come to visit us we’ll have to show you some of the covered bridges of Iowa, including the “Bridges of Madison County.”

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Barns in Gothic Oil | thewallgalleryblog

  3. Pingback: Cherry Blossoms University of Washington | thewallgalleryblog

  4. Pingback: Sepia Prints | thewallgalleryblog

  5. gpcox

    Always glad to reach back into the archives and find something I really like – covered bridges are a weakness of mine, if a horse had been crossing the Dorena Bridge – I’d be adopting you about now!

    Reply
    1. Kirt D Tisdale Post author

      If I could have had a horse crossing the bridge….I would have done it:) Thanks for the feedback….I love them also and didn’t realize how many are in Oregon! More on my next trip through!

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Oregon Covered Bridges In Watercolor – Featured Art Prints | thewallgalleryblog

Leave a Reply

